Poems, 1965-1975

Seamus Heaney

Farrar, Straus and Giroux



Trade Paperback

240 Pages


Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy

This volume brings together the poems comprising Heaney's first four collections: Death of a Naturalist (1966), Door into the Dark (1969), Wintering Out (1972), and North (1975).


Praise for Poems, 1965-1975

"Heaney is keyed and pitched unlike any significant poet now at work in the language, anywhere."—Harold Bloom, The Times Literary Supplement

"His is the most striking talent to come out of Ireland since that of the late Patrick Kavanagh."—Stephen Spender

"Heaney has all the primary gifts of a poet, and they are gifts put at the service of a constant meditation on primary themes, on nature and history and moral choice."—John Gross, The New York Times

Reviews from Goodreads



  • Seamus Heaney

  • Seamus Heaney received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1995. His many books of poetry include Opened Ground, Electric Light, The Spirit Level, Seeing Things, Station Island, The Haw Lantern, and Field Work, as well as translations of Beowulf and Diary of One Who Vanished. A resident of Dublin, he has taught poetry at Oxford University and Harvard University. In 2004, Heaney was presented with the Kenyon Review Award for Literary Achievement.

  • Seamus Heaney Photograph by John Minihan. Copyright of University College Cork.