The Cubs and Other Stories

Mario Vargas Llosa

Farrar, Straus and Giroux



Trade Paperback

160 Pages



Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy

The Cubs and Other Stories is Mario Vargas Llosa’s only volume of short fiction available in English. Vargas Llosa’s domain is the Peru of male youth and machismo, where life’s dramas play themselves out on the soccer field, the dance floor, and on street corners.

The title story, “The Cubs,” tells the story of the carefree boyhood of P.P. Cuellar and his friends, and of P.P.’s bizarre accident and tragic coming of age. Innovative in style and technique, it is a work of both physical and psychic loss.

In a candid and perceptive forward to this collection of early writing, Vargas llosa provides background to the volume and a unique glimpse into the mind of the Nobel Prize-winning artist.


Reviews from Goodreads



Read an Excerpt


They were still wearing short pants that year, we weren’t smoking yet, they preferred soccer to all the other sports and we were learning to surf, to dive from the high board at the Terraces Club, and they were devilish, smooth-cheeked, curious, very agile, voracious. That year, when Cuéllar enrolled in the Champagnat Academy.

Brother Leoncio, is it true a new boy’s coming? into 3A, Brother? Yes, with his fist Brother Leoncio pushed back the forelock hanging in his face, now let’s have some quiet.

He appeared one morning at inspection time, holding his father’s

Read the full excerpt


  • Mario Vargas Llosa

  • Mario Vargas Llosa is Peru's foremost author and the winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature. In 1994 he was awarded the Cervantes Prize, the Spanish-speaking world's most distinguished literary honor, and in 1995 he won the Jerusalem Prize. His many distinguished works include The Storyteller, The Feast of the Goat, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, Death in the Andes, In Praise of the Stepmother, The Bad Girl, Conversation in the Cathedral, The Way to Paradise, and The War of the End of the World. He lives in London.
  • Mario Vargas Llosa Morgana Vargas Llosa