The Evening of the Holiday A Novel

Shirley Hazzard




Trade Paperback

144 Pages



Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy
Passionate undercurrents sweep in and out of this eloquent novel about a love affair in the Italian countryside and its inevitable conclusion. The story takes place in a setting of pastoral beauty during a time of celebration—a summer festival.

Sophie, half English, half Italian, meets Tancredi, an Italian who is separated from his wife and family. In telling the story of their love affair, author Shirley Hazzard punctures the placid surface of polite Italian society to reveal the intense yearnings and surprising responses of sophisticated people caught up in emotions they do not always understand.


Praise for The Evening of the Holiday

"A near perfect novel . . . A small masterpiece."—Time

"Charged with great power . . . The impact on the reader is extraordinary intense."—The New York Times Book Review

"Short, elegant, and very good . . . [Written with] a beautifully precise, ironic, and yet evocative style."—The New York Review of Books

"An authentic work of art . . . A cause for delight and gratitude . . . Beautiful, absorbing, satisfying."—Chicago Tribune

Reviews from Goodreads



Read an Excerpt

Shirley Hazzard is the author, most recently, of Greene on Capri, a memoir of Graham Greene, and several works of fiction, including The Evening of the Holiday, The Bay of Noon, and The Transit of Venus, winner of the 1981 National Book Critics Circle Award. She lives in
New York City and Capri.
Read the full excerpt


  • Shirley Hazzard

  • Shirley Hazzard was born in Australia, and in early years traveled the world with her parents due to their diplomatic postings. In 1963, she married the writer Francis Steegmuller, who died in 1994. Hazzard's other novels include The Evening of the Holiday (1966), The Bay of Noon (1970), and The Transit of Venus (1981). She is also the author of two collections of short fiction, Cliffs of Fall and Other Stories (1963) and People in Glass Houses (1967). Her nonfiction works include Defeat of an Ideal (1973), Countenance of Truth (1990), and the memoir Greene on Capri (2000). Her most recent novel, The Great Fire, won the National Book Award in 2004.
  • Shirley Hazzard Copyright Nancy Crampton