The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirtieth Annual Collection

Year's Best Science Fiction

Edited by Gardner Dozois

St. Martin's Griffin



Trade Paperback

704 Pages



Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy
In the new millennium, what secrets lay beyond the far reaches of the universe? What mysteries belie the truths we once held to be self evident? The world of science fiction has long been a porthole into the realities of tomorrow, blurring the line between life and art. Now, in The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirtieth Annual Collection the very best SF authors explore ideas of a new world through their short stories. This venerable collection brings together award winning authors and masters of the field such as Robert Reed, Alastair Reynolds, Damien Broderick, Elizabeth Bear, Paul McAuley and John Barnes. Supplementing the twenty-nine stories are an extensive recommended reading guide and a summation of the year in science fiction. This annual compilation has become the definitive must-read anthology for all science fiction fans and readers interested in breaking into the genre.


Praise for The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirtieth Annual Collection

"From Indrapramit Das's story of a frozen world eternally locked into a Nightside and a Dayside, to Robert Reed's novella about humans marooned on a planet where they are seen by the natives as monsters . . . lovers of science fiction of all kinds will enjoy this annual overview." —Library Journal
"There really is no better collection out there . . . Here's hoping that Dozois can keep it up for another thirty years." —SFRevu 


Table of Contents
Summation: 2012
Weep for Day by Indrapramit Das
The Man by Paul J. McAuley
The Stars Do Not Lie by Jay Lake
The Memcordist by Lavie Tidhar
The Girl-Thing Who Went Out For Sushi by Pat Cadigan
Holmes Sherlock by Eleanor Arnason
Nightfall on the Peak of Eternal Light by Richard A. Lovett, William Gleason
Close Encounters by Andy Duncan
The Finite Canvas by Brit Mandelo
Steamgothic by Sean McMullen
In the House of Aryaman, a Lonely Signal Burns by Elizabeth Bear
Macy Minnot's Last Christmas on Dione, Ring Racing, Fiddler's Green, the Potter's Garden by Paul J. McAuley
Twenty Lights to "The Land of Snow" by Michael Bishop
Astrophilia by Carrie Vaughn
What Did Tessimond Tell You? by Adam Roberts
Old Paint by Megan Lindholm
Chitai Heiki Koronbin by David Moles
Katabasis by Robert Reed
The Water Thief by Alastair Reynolds
Nightside on Callisto by Linda Nagata
Under the Eaves by Lavie Tidhar
Sudden, Broken, and Unexpected by Steven Popkes
Fireborn by Robert Charles Wilson
Ruminations in an Alien Tongue by Vandana Singh
Tyche and the Ants by Hannu Rajaniemi
The Wreck of the "Charles Dexter Ward" by Sarah Monette, Elizabeth Bear
Invisible Men by Christopher Barzak
Ship's Brother by Aliette de Bodard
Eater-of-Bone by Robert Reed
Honorable Mentions: 2012

Reviews from Goodreads



Read an Excerpt

Weep for Day
Indrapramit Das is a writer and artist from Kolkata, India. His short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, Asimov’s Science Fiction, Apex Magazine, Redstone Science Fiction, The World SF Blog, Flash Fiction Online, and the anthology Breaking the Bow: Speculative Fiction Inspired by the Ramayana. He is a grateful graduate of the 2012 Clarion West Writers Workshop, and a recipient of the Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship Award. He completed his MFA at the University of British Columbia, and currently lives in Vancouver, working as
Read the full excerpt


  • Edited by Gardner Dozois

  • Gardner Dozois has been working in the science fiction field for more than thirty years. For twenty years he was the editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction, during which he received the Hugo Award for Best Editor fifteen times.

  • Gardner Dozois M.C. Valada