The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Third Annual Collection

Year's Best Science Fiction

Gardner Dozois

St. Martin's Griffin



Trade Paperback

704 Pages



Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy
The twenty-nine stories in this collection imaginatively take us far across the universe, into the very core of our beings, to the realm of the gods, and the moment just after now. Included here are the works of masters of the form and of bright new talents. Supplementing the stories are the editor's insightful summation of the year's events and a list of honorable mentions, making this book both a valuable resource and the single best place in the universe to find stories that stir the imagination, and the heart.


Praise for The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Third Annual Collection

"Dozois's intelligently and ably put-together anthology does its stated job as well as any one book or editor could. Even with competition, it would still be the best of the Best."—Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads



Read an Excerpt

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Third Annual Collection
The Little GoddessIAN McDONALDBritish author Ian McDonald is an ambitious and daring writer with a wide range and an impressive amount of talent. His first story was published in 1982, and since then he has appeared with some frequency in Interzone, Asimov's Science Fiction, New Worlds, Zenith, Other Edens, Amazing, and elsewhere. He was nominated for the John W. Campbell Award in 1985, and in 1989 he won the Locus "Best First Novel" Award for his novel Desolation Road. He won the Philip K. Dick Award in 1992 for his novel King
Read the full excerpt


  • Gardner Dozois

  • Gardner Dozois has been working in the science fiction field for more than thirty years. He was the editor of Asimov's Science Fiction for twenty years, during which time he won fifteen Hugo Awards. He lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
  • Gardner Dozois M.C. Valada