A Dead Man's Tale

Charlie Moon Mysteries (Volume 15)

James D. Doss

Minotaur Books

Download Image James D. Doss A Dead Man's Tale

Available Formats

BookeBook

At seven feet tall, Colorado rancher and Ute tribal investigator Charlie Moon is a larger-than-life figure—and a force to be reckoned with, on and off the reservation…

Hard times have come to Colorado, and Moon’s ranch is feeling the pinch. Not so for Samuel Reed. He seems to have a special intuition when it comes to picking stocks, and claims to be able to remember the future, which gives him quite a leg up on Wall Street. So Reed is quite confident when he makes a wager with Moon’s best friend, Granite Creek Chief of Police Scott Parris, that Parris can’t keep him alive.

Even when Reed doesn’t offer any details beyond the date and time of his impending demise, Moon has a sixth sense that everything will turn out just fine…until not one, but two men end up left for dead. Now it’s up to Moon—along with the help of his Aunt Daisy, an aged Ute shaman who can communicate with the spirit world—to solve the case. Or die trying…

Connect with the Author

James D. Doss

Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for A Dead Man's Tale

“Insanely good.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“It’s Moon who stands tallest  in The Widow’s Revenge…a nonstop read [in] this solid series.”—Booklist 

“Successfully evokes the mysticism of traditional Native American storytelling.”—Publishers Weekly

SNAKE DREAMS

“Outstanding… The narrator clearly is having fun as he unveils his tale, liberally laced with Native American lore, character idiosyncrasies, comedic asides, and a plot that weaves and twists like a highway in the Rockies.”—Library Journal (starred review) 

Snake Dreams is the thirteenth novel in this series, and since it’s a very good one—funny, smart, and totally different—it’s a great place for readers to discover Moon.”—Toronto Globe and Mail

THREE SISTERS

“One of  his best yet!”—Booklist

“Wild, authentic…and highly satisfying.”—Detroit Free Press “A finely cut gem.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“James D. Doss’ novels about Charlie Moon…feel as if the author is sitting around a campfire, spinning a tall tale that engulfs a circle of listeners…Doss’ tale is evocative of the area and of Indian lore, and his chatty, down-home style shines in Three Sisters.”—Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Doss’s trademark humor keeps Charlie and Scott wisecracking as the plot spins smartly along to an unpredictable ending…Moon mysteries still charm us with Western voices and ways.”—Rocky Mountain News

STONE BUTTERFLY

“Style, pathos, enthusiasm, and humor to spare.”—Mystery Scene          

“A clever plot…will keep readers turning the pages.”—Publishers Weekly

“The Moon series deftly blends traditional mystery elements with Native American mythology—a surefire read-alike for Hillerman fans.”—Booklist


“Droll, crafty, upper-echelon reading.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

SHADOW MAN

“Doss likes to toss a little Native American spiritualism and a lot of local color into his mysteries. Fans of the series will be well pleased.”—Booklist


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

James D. Doss

James D. Doss is the author of the Charlie Moon mysteries, including The Widow’s Revenge. Two of the Moon books were named one of the best books of the year by Publishers Weekly. Originally from Kentucky, he divides his time between Los Alamos and Taos, New Mexico.

James D. Doss

Photo: Kirk W. Doss
James D. Doss

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

A Dead Man's Tale
James D. Doss

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
November 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312548896
ISBN10: 0312548893
4 1/8 x 6 3/4 inches, 368 pages
$7.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
November 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429922265
ISBN10: 1429922265
304 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back