email/print EmailPrint

chapter books for 2nd graders KEYWORDS: RELATED: Pre-School Through Grade 3New at MacmillanTop Sellers

Macmillan's Short Chapter Books from various authors.

Displaying 1-24 of 25
1 | 2 next
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Three Little Robbers

Jo, Flo, and Mo are robbers who live on a lane. Jo is strong. Flo is loud. Mo is quick. They rob people who come up the lane. But when they go to rob the old...

"...!. “A terrific offering for new readers.” —Kirkus Reviews..."

By Christine Graham and Susan Boase

more

cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Piper Reed, Navy Brat

It’s not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Meet Piper Reed, a spunky nine-year-old who has moved more times than she can...

By Kimberly Willis Holt and Christine Davenier

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
A Neal Porter Book

Pirates Eat Porridge

HOIST THE SAILS! MAN THE POOP DECK! A side-splitting tale with ridicuous pictures to tickle the funny bones of kids everywhere. "Who is the captain of...

"...independent readers (and scallywags)!. Kirkus Reviews   Billy is the sort of boy who likes to sit in his..."

By Christopher Morgan and Neil Curtis

more

  
cover BUY
Roaring Brook Press

The Mouse Family Robinson

GET READY TO EMBARK ON A TINY ADVENTURE! “You mean you’re going to have a baby?” “Babies.” The Robinsons are expecting…trouble, that is. With six newborn...

By Dick King-Smith and Nick Bruel

more

  
cover BUY
Roaring Brook Press

Swimming with Sharks

DOES RITA HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SWIM WITH THE SHARKS? Rita’s times aren’t good enough to swim with the Sharks—the team where all her friends compete. At first...

"...into this latest book in the GYM SHORTS series—sure to make a splash with new readers..."

By Betty Hicks and Adam McCauley

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Boo's Dinosaur

An early chapter book from Newbery Medal winner Betsy Byars When Boo brings home a dinosaur that only she can see, her brother Sammy, doesn’t want to...

"...An early chapter book from Newbery Medal winner Betsy Byars When Boo brings home a dinosaur that only she can see, her brother Sammy, doesn’t want to.... An early chapter book from Newbery Medal winner Betsy Byars   When Boo brings home a dinosaur that only she can see, her brother Sammy, doesn’t..."

By Betsy Byars and Erik Brooks

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Square Fish

Piper Reed, Navy Brat

When a man joins the Navy, his family joins the Navy.

"...situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels.”—The Horn Book Magazine   “This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby.”—School Library Journal   “...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat.”—Booklist   “Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner..."

By Kimberly Willis Holt and Christine Davenier

more

cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Cinder Rabbit

Every bunny at Grand Rabbits School is excited about the spring play. As the star, Zoe has to lead her whole class in the Bunny Hop. But she has one big...

"...and the school play! Beginning chapter book readers will love Cinder Rabbit, a story filled with humor and pizzazz.” —Phyllis Root, author of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winning Big Momma Makes the World “This simple, sweet beginning chapter book contains the right amount of story for children just starting..."

By Lynn E. Hazen and Elyse Pastel

more

cover BUY
Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Common Sense and Fowls

What is a community without heart? Uh-oh! - Mrs. Krnc is at it again! Rachel and her younger friend Brian know that their other neighbor Mr. Gioia is going...

"...that works for everyone. Humorous drawings accompany this thought-provoking chapter book..."

By Jane Cutler and Lynne Barasch

more

cover BUY
Square Fish

7 x 9 = Trouble!

Wilson Williams worries about passing his times-table tests Wilson has a hard time with math, especially with Mrs. Porter's timed multiplication tests. If...

"...a suspenseful and satisfying beginning chapter book." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books..."

By Claudia Mills and G. Brian Karas

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Third Grade Baby

Polly Peterson knows that baby teeth are for babies like her little brother, Max. And yet she’s the only kid in her third grade class who hasn’t lost a single...

"...graders leave teeth under their pillows? Or is the tooth fairy also just for babies? In this charming and funny book filled with exuberant illustrations, Polly learns that true growth isn’t measured..."

By Jenny Meyerhoff and Jill Weber

more

cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Piper Reed, the Great Gypsy

Piper’s dad - the Navy Chief - might be gone again, but Piper’s got plenty to keep her busy at home: new neighbors, a spaceship beach house, a trip to New...

"...to win, but teaching tricks to her dog seems nearly impossible. Bruna is simply unteachable..."

By Kimberly Willis Holt and Christine Davenier

more

  
cover BUY

There are a few things / about your best friend that you can only learn / when you see where he’s from. Minn knew / that Jake was from the city. But...

"...with the text, capture the very essence of childhood summers. Good fun.” —Kirkus Reviews “Whimsical ink sketches enhance the storytelling in this creative early chapter book that features smart, endearing..."

By Janet S. Wong and Genevieve Cote

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Roaring Brook Press

Goof-Off Goalie

SOCCER DREAMS AND PLENTY OF ACTION this second book in the Gym Shorts series scores high with new readers. There’s nothing Goose wants more than to play...

"...SOCCER DREAMS AND PLENTY OF ACTION this second book in the Gym Shorts series scores high with new readers. There’s nothing Goose wants more than to play.... SOCCER DREAMS AND PLENTY OF ACTION this second book in the Gym Shorts series scores high with new readers. There’s nothing Goose wants more than to play goalie for his soccer team. It looks like such fun – and so easy! – on TV. But to say Goose has a little trouble focusing is a bit of an understatement.  Luckily..."

By Betty Hicks and Adam McCauley

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
A Neal Porter Book

Pirates Drive Buses

"OH, NO," SAID HEIDI. "IT'S THAT PIRATE AGAIN." IT SURE IS. Newly-independent readers will welcome the pirate's return. Billy and Heidi were walking to...

".... “Not to worry--you’re here now. And so am I. Now HURRY up!” In the pirate’s second visit (a follow up..."

By Christopher Morgan and Neil Curtis

more

cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Maybelle in the Soup

Maybelle is a lovely, plump cockroach. She lives in her own cozy little home under the refrigerator of Mr. and Mrs. Peabody. Maybelle knows it’s best to stay...

"...who will be welcome back any day.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review..."

By Katie Speck and Paul Rátz de Tagyos

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

No More Pumpkins

Emily is tired of pumpkins. At school she and her friend Vincetta Louise have been doing pumpkin math, pumpkin field trips, and pumpkin writing. Can’t they...

By Peter Catalanotto and Pamela Schembri

more

  
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Mokie and Bik

From Mokie & Bik: Mokie and Bik lived on a boat called Bullfrog. They lived in it, on it, all around it—monkeying up ladders and down ropes, over the...

"...language and Jonathan Bean’s gorgeous, detailed pen-and-ink illustrations blend together in a book..."

By Jonathan Bean and Wendy Orr

more

  
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Dog Diaries

Secret Writings of the WOOF Society

What do dogs really think about their two-legged companions? It is the first annual meeting of the WOOF Society. Dogs of different backgrounds and breeds...

"...illustrations, are sure to appeal to dog lovers of all ages.. Chapter 6 Tidbit: A Star Is Born   Nashville..."

By Erik Brooks, Betsy Byars, Betsy Duffey and Laurie Myers

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
A Neal Porter Book

Black? White! Day? Night!

A Book of Opposites

Having explored the alphabet (The Hidden Alphabet), colors (Lemons Are Not Red), and emotions (Walter Was Worried), Laura Vaccaro Seeger turns her...

"...Having explored the alphabet (The Hidden Alphabet), colors (Lemons Are Not Red), and emotions (Walter Was Worried), Laura Vaccaro Seeger turns her.... Having explored the alphabet (The Hidden Alphabet), colors (Lemons Are Not Red), and emotions (Walter Was Worried), Laura Vaccaro Seeger turns her extraordinary talents to opposites in this bright, colorful and imaginative book. Through a  series of ingenious die-cut pages, the reader discovers things that are the opposite of what they see..."

Laura Vaccaro Seeger Laura Vaccaro Seeger

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

The Secret Lunch Special

Meet Emily, and her new friend—sort of . . . Emily loves her shiny black lunch bag—the jewels, the way it sparkles. But one day a new school bus picks her...

"...navigates the rough waters of second grade.. “A good choice for readers new to chapter books . . and second..."

By Peter Catalanotto and Pamela Schembri

more

cover BUY
Henry Holt and Co.

Sea Surprise

Eel was ill. He did not wake up feeling very electric. "Oh, drat!" he said grumpily. "I've lost my zap!" An adorably funny undersea adventure for...

"...with a shock that no one expected.. Chapter 1: A Morning Swim It was a cool, wet day at the bottom..."

Leo Landry

more

About The Author
  
cover BUY
Farrar, Straus and Giroux

The Next-Door Dogs

Putting a fear to rest Sara Barker is afraid of dogs. Whenever she sees even a picture of one, she feels clammy and cold all over. So what's Sara to do when...

"...to Sara, and dog-lovers will enjoy seeing her overcome her fears in this easy-to-read chapter book..."

By Colby Rodowsky and Amy June Bates

more

cover BUY

Max and his sidekick, Gordy, try various get-rich-quick schemes only to be outdone each time by smart-aleck Austin Healy. Peppy dialogue and a fast-moving plot...

"...Max and his sidekick, Gordy, try various get-rich-quick schemes only to be outdone each time by smart-aleck Austin Healy. Peppy dialogue and a fast-moving plot.... Max and his sidekick, Gordy, try various get-rich-quick schemes only to be outdone each time by smart-aleck Austin Healy. Peppy dialogue and a fast-moving plot make this easy chapter book a reassuring choice for newly independent readers..."

Displaying 1-24 of 25
1 | 2 next