email/print EmailPrint
photo: Shannon Kirkpatrick

Picador Editors' Favorite Books

We asked Picador's editorial staff which Picador books stand out as personal favorites.

David Rogers, Senior Editor: Too many to choose from! Michelle Huneven's Blame, Yoko Ogawa's Hotel Iris, Peter Temple's The Broken Shore, Alex von Tunzelmann's Indian Summer, Hilary Mantel's Beyond Black, Bradley Denton's Blackburn, Ben Ratliff's Coltrane, Ma Jian's Stick Out Your Tongue, Victor Lodato's Mathilda Savitch, Stewart O’Nan's Snow Angels, Donald Antrim's The Afterlife. One more: Veronica Buckley's Secret Wife of Louis XIV. Pure fun.

Scott Cheshire, Assistant Editor: Colum McCann's This Side of Brightness, Jim Crace's Quarantine, Chris Adrian's A Better Angel, Walker Percy's Love in the Ruins

Alex Gilvarry, Assistant Editor: Paul Auster's graphic novel City of Glass, David Bezmozgis's Natasha, Stuart Dybek's I Sailed With Magellan, Henry Roth's Call It Sleep, The Paris Review Book of Heartbreak, Madness, Sex, Love, Betrayal…Since 1953, Philip Gourevitch's We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families, James Wood's How Fiction Works

cover BUY
Picador

Blame

A Novel

FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST FOR THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE CHICAGO TRIBUNE FAVORITE FICTION OF THE YEAR O, THE OPRAH...

Michelle Huneven Michelle Huneven

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

Hotel Iris

A Novel

In this trade paperback original, Yoko Ogawa, beloved author of The Housekeeper and the Professor, returns with the twisted tale of a young girl’s affair with...

Yoko Ogawa Yoko Ogawa

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

The Broken Shore

A Novel

Winner of the CWA Duncan Lawrie Dagger Award A Booklist Best Crime Novel of the Year Shaken by a recent scrape with death, big-city detective Joe...

Peter Temple Peter Temple

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

Indian Summer

The Secret History of the End of an Empire

At the stroke of midnight on August 15, 1947, the British Empire withdrew from India, inviting in all the exhilaration and turmoil of a newly free society. In...

Alex Von Tunzelmann Alex Von Tunzelmann

more

About The Author
  
cover BUY
Picador

Beyond Black

A Novel

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year Colette and Alison are unlikely cohorts: one a shy, drab beanpole of an assistant, the other a charismatic,...

Hilary Mantel Hilary Mantel

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

Blackburn

A Novel

Blackburn is a serial killer. But, like the rest of us, he confronts the same hypocrisies and frustrations of the world and, unable to help himself, or at the...

"...Blackburn is a serial killer. But, like the rest of us, he confronts the same hypocrisies and frustrations of the world and, unable to help himself, or at the.... Blackburn is a serial killer. But, like the rest of us, he confronts the same hypocrisies and frustrations of the world and, unable to help himself, or at the mercy of circumstance, he crosses a dangerous threshold--and he kills. In this novel, we meet many of his twenty-one victims: law enforcers, writers, adulterers, auto mechanics,..."

Bradley Denton

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

Coltrane

The Story of a Sound

John Coltrane left an indelible mark on the world, but what was the essence of his achievement that makes him so prized forty years after his death? What were...

Ben Ratliff Ben Ratliff

more

About The Author
  
cover BUY
Picador

Stick Out Your Tongue

Stories

When Stick Out Your Tongue was published in Chinese in 1997, a blanket ban was placed on Ma Jian's future work. With its publication in English, readers get a...

By Ma Jian and Flora Drew

more

  
cover BUY
Picador

Mathilda Savitch

A Novel

A CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR BEST BOOK OF 2009 A BOOKLIST BEST BOOK OF 2009 A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF 2009 Fear doesn’t come naturally to Mathilda...

"...A CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR BEST BOOK OF 2009 A BOOKLIST BEST BOOK OF 2009 A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF 2009 Fear doesn’t come naturally to Mathilda.... A CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR BEST BOOK OF 2009 A BOOKLIST BEST BOOK OF 2009 A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF 2009 Fear doesn’t come naturally to Mathilda Savitch. She prefers to look right at the things nobody else can bear to mention: for example, the fact that her beloved older sister is dead, pushed in front of a train by a man still on the loo..."

Victor Lodato Victor Lodato

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

Snow Angels

A Novel

Arthur Parkinson is fourteen during the dreary winter of 1974, experiencing the confusing pangs of adolescence and the pain of his parents’ divorce. His...

Stewart O'Nan Stewart O'Nan

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

The Afterlife

A Memoir

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice In the winter of 2000, shortly after his mother's death, Donald Antrim began writing about his family. In...

Donald Antrim Donald Antrim

more

About The Author
  
cover BUY
Picador

The Secret Wife of Louis XIV

Françoise d'Aubigné, Madame de Maintenon

Françoise d’Aubigné, marquise de Maintenon and secret wife of the Sun King, Louis XIV, was born in a bleak French prison in 1635, her father a condemned...

Veronica Buckley

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

This Side of Brightness

A Novel

At the turn of the century, Nathan Walker comes to New York City to take the most dangerous job in the country. A sandhog, he burrows beneath the East River,...

Colum McCann Colum McCann

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

Quarantine

A Novel

Quarantine is an imaginative and powerful retelling of Christ's fabled forty-day fast in the desert. In Jim Crace's account, Jesus travels to a cluster of arid...

Jim Crace Jim Crace

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

A Better Angel

Stories

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE In this inventive collection of stories, Chris Adrian...

Chris Adrian Chris Adrian

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

Love in the Ruins

A Novel

Dr. Tom More has created a stethoscope of the human spirit. With it, he embarks on an unforgettable odyssey to cure mankind's spiritual flu. This novel...

"...Dr. Tom More has created a stethoscope of the human spirit. With it, he embarks on an unforgettable odyssey to cure mankind's spiritual flu. This novel.... Dr. Tom More has created a stethoscope of the human spirit. With it, he embarks on an unforgettable odyssey to cure mankind's spiritual flu. This novel confronts both the value of life and its susceptibility to chance and ruin.. "A great adventure...So outrageous and so real, one is left speechless."--Chicago Sun Times "Immensely readable, ..."

Walker Percy

more

About The Author
cover BUY
Picador

City of Glass

The Graphic Novel

A graphic novel classic with a new introduction by Art Spiegelman Quinn writes mysteries. The Washington Post has described him as a...

"...A graphic novel classic with a new introduction by Art Spiegelman Quinn writes mysteries. The Washington Post has described him as a.... A graphic novel classic with a new introduction by Art Spiegelman Quinn writes mysteries. The Washington Post has described him as a “post-existentialist private eye.” An unknown voice on the telephone is now begging for his help, drawing him into a world and a mystery far stranger than any he ever created in print. Adapted by Paul Karasik and David Mazzucchel..."

By Paul Auster, Paul Karasik, David Mazzucchellil and Art Spiegelman

more

  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

Natasha

And Other Stories

A dazzling debut, and a publishing phenomenon: the tender, savagely funny collection from a young immigrant who has taken the critics by storm. Few readers...

"...A dazzling debut, and a publishing phenomenon: the tender, savagely funny collection from a young immigrant who has taken the critics by storm. Few readers.... A dazzling debut, and a publishing phenomenon: the tender, savagely funny collection from a young immigrant who has taken the critics by storm. Few readers had heard of David Bezmozgis before May 2003, when Harper’s, Zoetrope, and The New Yorker all printed stories from his forthcoming collection. In the space of a few weeks, America thu..."

David Bezmozgis David Bezmozgis

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY

Following his renowned The Coast of Chicago and Childhood, story writer Stuart Dybek returns with eleven masterful and masterfully linked stories about...

Stuart Dybek Stuart Dybek

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY
Picador

Call It Sleep

A Novel

When Henry Roth published his debut novel Call It Sleep in 1934, it was greeted with considerable critical acclaim though, in those troubled times, lackluster...

By Henry Roth and Alfred Kazin

more

  
cover BUY
Picador

The Paris Review Book

of Heartbreak, Madness, Sex, Love, Betrayal, Outsiders, Intoxication, War, Whimsy, Horrors, God, Death, Dinner, Baseball, Travels, The Art of Writing, and Everything Else in the World Since 1953

For a half-century, The Paris Review has published writing and interviews from the world's most brilliant authors. To commemorate the anniversary, a...

By The Paris Review and George Plimpton

more

  
cover BUY

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction. In April 1994, the Rwandan government called upon everyone in the Hutu majority to kill...

Philip Gourevitch Philip Gourevitch

more

About The Author
  Bonus
cover BUY

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic...

James Wood James Wood

more

About The Author