OVERRIDE

Dong Hwa Kim

Dong Hwa Kim

“The world is full of small and insignificant things. These things end up coming together and creating the history of entire human beings. People can think that each one of their personal decisions, their obligations and responsibilities, are just their own, but the truth is that everything and everyone is connected and related deeply and closely. We go through numerous conflicts every day because of the discordance between what we want to do and what we should do, and we are forced to choose only one of them. The book is the reflection of that reality.”
 
Kim Dong-hwa is a widely revered Korean comic artist. Since his debut (with My Sky, serialized in the Daily Hanguk, one of the most prestigious Korean newspapers) in 1975, he has become a mainstay of the Korean manhwa (comics) landscape. He is best known for his tender stories and uncanny ability to write from a profoundly feminine perspective.
 
The three books that make up The Color TrilogyThe Color of Earth, The Color of Water, and The Color of Heaven – are his first manhwa to be translated into English and published in the United States. 
 
“Since I was very young, I’ve been interested in writing and drawing stories about girls growing up, both mentally and physically. I think that the process of a girl becoming a woman is one of the biggest mysteries and wonders of life. And when my mother was s

BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR

First love is never easy.   Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers –...

Buy

A celebration of the triumph of true love
 
As Ehwa grew from a girl to a young woman in The Color of Earth and The Color of Water, she began to understand and experience love and relationships, with her mother as a model and confidante.  Now, in the heartwarming conclusion to this lyrically written and delicately drawn trilogy, Ehwa's true love comes at last, and as her mother looks on, she takes the final steps towards becoming an adult. 
 
In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manhwa creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a girl's coming of age story, set in the vibrant pastoral landscape of Korea. 

Buy

When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who’s eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and...

Buy

BACK