James Wood

James Wood
©Miriam Berkley

James Wood is a staff writer at The New Yorker and a visiting lecturer at Harvard University. He is the author of How Fiction Works, as well as two essay collections, The Broken Estate and The Irresponsible Self, and a novel, The Book Against God.


James Wood

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Author on the Web

 
©Miriam Berkley
James Wood

Back

books
by the author

The Fun Stuff

James Wood
Picador

Author of How Fiction Works James Wood has long established himself as the leading critic of his generation. With The Fun Stuff, he confirms his...


Available In:

Book eBook
The Broken Estate

James Wood
Picador

The first collection of essays from America's most revered literary critic--incisive, accessible, and passionately written.


Available In:

Book
How Fiction Works

James Wood
Picador

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic...


Available In:

Book eBook
The Irresponsible Self

James Wood
Picador

"James Wood has been called our best young critic. This is not true. He is our best critic; he thinks with a sublime ferocity."--Cynthia Ozick Following the...


Available In:

Book eBook
The Book Against God

James Wood
Picador

Thomas Bunting while neglecting his philosophy Ph.D., still unfinished after seven years, is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork--a vast...


Available In:

Book eBook
view all works by this author
Back