Louise Bogan

Books by the celebrated poet/critic Louise Bogan (1897-1970) include Body of This Death (1923), Dark Summer (1929), The Sleeping Fury (1937), Poems and New Poems (1941), Collected Poems 1923-1953 (1954), Achievement in American Poetry, 1900-1950 (1951), and Collected Poems 1923-1953 (1954). What the Woman Lived: Selected Letters of Louise Bogan 1920-1970 (1973) was edited by Ruth Limmer.

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter

Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now



Carl Phillips reads Bogan's poem "Night" and his poem "Island"

"Listen to poet Carl Phillips read Louise Bogan's poem ""Night"" and his own poem ""Island."" Learn more about poet Carl Phillips at http://us.macmillan.com/author/carlphillips Read about Phillips' book Riding Westward, which includes the poem ""Island,"" at http://us.macmillan.com/ridingwestward/CarlPhillips Read about poet Louise Bogan at http://us.macmillan.com/author/louisebogan Learn about the poetry collection The Blue Estuaries at http://us.macmillan.com/theblueestuaries/LouiseBogan"

Share This

by the author

The Blue Estuaries

Louise Bogan
Farrar, Straus and Giroux Paperbacks

Honored, during the course of her literary career, with almost every major poetry award, Louise Bogan (1898-1970) was the poetry critic for The New Yorker for...

Available In: