Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Michael Bishop

Michael Bishop is an American science fiction writer, born November 12, 1945 in Lincoln, Nebraska. His stories began to appear in American science fiction magazines in 1970; his first novel, A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire, appeared in 1975. Since then, in sixteen subsequent novels and several story collections, he has produced one of the most distinguished bodies of work in modern SF.  His work has won the Nebula Award twice, for “The Quickening” in 1981 and for the novel No Enemy But Time in 1982; he has also received the Locus Award four times and has been a frequent finalist for the Hugo. His fantasy novel Unicorn Mountain (1988) won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award.  Among his most acclaimed works are the novels Transfigurations (1979), Ancient of Days (1985), Philip K. Dick Is Dead, Alas (1987, originally published as The Secret Ascension), and 1994’s Brittle Innings, a novel about Frankenstein’s monster, having survived the nineteenth century, playing minor league baseball in the American South during World War II.

Books by the Author

The City Quiet as Death

The City Quiet as Death

A Tor.Com Original

Steven Utley and Michael Bishop
Tor Books

Between the incessant music of the stars and the spectre of a giant squid caught inside a locket ball, it is difficult for Don Horacio to maintain a restful mind.

At the Publisher's request,...

Available in:




    Latest on Facebook