Beware Beware

A Juniper Song Mystery

Juniper Song Mysteries (Volume 2)

Steph Cha

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Steph Cha Beware Beware

Available Formats

BookeBook

No longer an amateur sleuth, Steph Cha’s “compelling and original” (LA Times) crime heroine Juniper Song is working as an apprentice for Chaz Lindley’s P.I. firm when she finds herself nose deep in a Hollywood murder scandal.  When a young woman named Daphne Freamon calls looking for an eye on her boyfriend, Chaz punts the client to Song.  Daphne is an independently wealthy painter living in New York, and her boyfriend Jamie Landon is a freelance screenwriter living in Los Angeles, ghostwriting a vanity project for movie star Joe Tilley.  Song quickly learns that there’s more to this case than a simple tail, and her suspicions are confirmed when Tilley winds up dead in a hotel room.  Nonetheless, when Jamie becomes the prime suspect in the movie star’s murder, she agrees to help the charismatic couple discover the truth, even as the police build their case against Jamie.  As she chases leads and questions grieving Hollywood insiders, she uncovers a sordid layer of blackmail and hidden identities, of a history of violence that leaves no one safe from judgment.

A stunningly written, fast-paced, and edgy read, Beware, Beware takes readers to the dark heart that beats behind the glittery surfaces of LA’s celebrity royalty and in a tale perfect for fans of Lisa Unger and Tana French.

Praise for Follow Her Home

“[Song] is a compelling and original protagonist… One only hopes that Cha and her driven, neo-noir detective have more opportunities to explore those troubling intersections over many books to come.” –LA Times

“Stephanie Cha's brilliant debut is as Noir as Old Nick's sense of humour. Compelling from first to last page, she takes on contemporary L.A., sweeping the reader through Chandler's twilight, heartbroken city from mansions to faux K-town hostess bars.  L.A. Noir at its finest.” -- Denise Mina, author of The Dead Hour

 

"Follow Her Home takes a fresh trip down the sunny, dark streets of Los Angeles, and Juniper Song is a great guide - young, sharp, and worldly-wise. Keenly observed and deeply felt, the story slowly got under my skin. I couldn't put it down." - Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winng author of Ransom River

 

“In a glittery L.A. of pretty, privileged twentysomethings, Stephanie Cha's Follow Her Home opens like a playful homage to Raymond Chandler but deepens into something darker:  an utterly 21st-century  ode to sisterhood in the face of crime.  A fast-paced thriller told in smart, sparkling prose, Follow Her Home is a moving exploration of mothers and daughters, men and women, immigrant history, loss, and hope.” –Joy Castro, author of Hell or High Water

 

 

Connect with the Author

Steph Cha

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for Beware Beware

Praise for Follow Her Home

“[Song] is a compelling and original protagonist… One only hopes that Cha and her driven, neo-noir detective have more opportunities to explore those troubling intersections over many books to come.” –LA Times

 

“Cha’s debut updates Marlowe’s dark and dangerous LA to modern times while keeping the quirky characters and a twisty mystery that will hold readers to the bitter end.” –Kirkus

“Intriguing...it’s clear that Song, a chain-smoking, hard-drinking, and nourish young woman with a Raymond Chandler fixation is well on her way to being a first-rate investigator.” Publishers Weekly

“For fans of urban noir and of mysteries that address contemporary social issues. Cha is a promising mystery author to watch.” –Library Journal


“Many try to emulate Raymond Chandler; few succeed.  Put Cha in the latter category…. [she] has that certain something that makes you want to follow Song on her next adventure.” –RT Book Reviews


Follow Her Home’s strength is in the creation of a relatable, dynamic, modern protagonist… Cha has penned a well-written, atmospheric text. But Follow Her Home is also a gritty tale that serves up social commentary on cultural fetishization.” –KorAM Magazine


“While Cha pays very clear homage to Chandler -- indicated in the enthusiastic use of similes and Juniper often wondering what Marlowe would do -- she definitely transcends his influence to make the story her own… Cha does a great job of keeping the suspense taut, with deft pacing and effective cliff-hangers. Action pushes the plot resolutely forward -- whether Juniper is getting knocked out in the middle of the night or finding her bed chillingly made by someone other than herself. And Juniper herself is a likeable character with a distinct voice.” –Hyphen Magazine

“Stephanie Cha's brilliant debut is as Noir as Old Nick's sense of humour. Compelling from first to last page, she takes on contemporary L.A., sweeping the reader through Chandler's twilight, heartbroken city from mansions to faux K-town hostess bars.  L.A. Noir at its finest.” -- Denise Mina, author of The Dead Hour

 

"Follow Her Home takes a fresh trip down the sunny, dark streets of Los Angeles, and Juniper Song is a great guide - young, sharp, and worldly-wise. Keenly observed and deeply felt, the story slowly got under my skin. I couldn't put it down." - Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winng author of Ransom River

 

“In a glittery L.A. of pretty, privileged twentysomethings, Stephanie Cha's Follow Her Home opens like a playful homage to Raymond Chandler but deepens into something darker:  an utterly 21st-century  ode to sisterhood in the face of crime.  A fast-paced thriller told in smart, sparkling prose, Follow Her Home is a moving exploration of mothers and daughters, men and women, immigrant history, loss, and hope.” –Joy Castro, author of Hell or High Water

"A gripping narrative voice that's as fun as it is funky, sharp, and evocative."--Tom Piccirilli, author of The Last Kind Words and The Last Whisper in the Dark


Follow Her Home reveals a writer keenly aware and inspired by the subgenre of American noir fiction…. Cha’s debut novel would fit very well into any American detective fiction course and would especially pair well with Walter Mosley, in her exploration of race, ethnicity, and the urban metropolis known as Los Angeles.” --http://asianamlitfans.livejournal.com/


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Steph Cha

STEPH CHA is a graduate of Stanford University and Yale Law School. She lives in her native city of Los Angeles, California. Beware Beware is her second novel.

Steph Cha

Susie Cha
Steph Cha

Official Sites

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Beware Beware
A Juniper Song Mystery
Steph Cha

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
8/12/2014
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250049018
ISBN10: 1250049016
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$25.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
8/12/2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466850156
ISBN10: 1466850159
288 pages
$12.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back