The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow

Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton, illustrator

Feiwel & Friends

Download Image Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton, illustrator The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow

Available Formats

Book

Look! It’s a book

With a mouse and his house,

And a mole in a hole,

And a bike with a spike,

And, of course,

A big, fat cow that goes . . .

5,4,3,2,1 . . . KAPOW!

 

New York Times-bestselling author Andy Griffiths, follows up his slimy, rhymey, easy-to-read hit, The Cat on the Mat is Flat, with ten more hilarious short, rhyming stories guaranteed to make kids laugh. 

 

* Kirkus Reviews

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

BIG FAT COWS

It’s raining big fat cows today.

How many cows?

It’s hard to say.

A big cow here.

A fat cow there.

Big fat cows are

EVERY

WHERE!

Cows underwater.

Cows in space.

Big fat cows all over the place!

Excerpted from The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow by Andy Griffiths.
Copyright 2008 by Terry Denton.
Published in First U.S. Edition: 2009 by Feiwel and Friends.
All rights reserved. This work is protected under copyright laws and reproduction is strictly prohibited.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow

"Early, emerging, reluctant, and accomplished readers alike are certain to enjoy this hilarious, easy to read book chock-full of whacky, slapstick rhyme.  Perfectly complemented with zany black-and-white illustrations, kids will gobble-up these 10 short stories....Full of humor, fun, and an easy format that builds reading confidence, this selection is irresistible." —Herald Tribune (Sarasota, FL)
 
 
 
Praise for Andy Griffith's The Cat on The Mat is Flat:
 
“Griffiths’s innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton’s edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals.” —The Excelsior File (blog)
 
“Definitely not your parents’ easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith’s Happy Hockey Family.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation’s outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun.” —Armchair Interviews
 
 

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton, illustrator

Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, and The Cat on the Mat Is Flat. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children’s choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia’s most popular children’s writer.

Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the Just! books and The Cat on the Mat is Flat, among others. He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.

Terry Denton
Andy Griffiths

Terry Denton

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow
Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton, illustrator

Award

CPL: Chicago Public Library Best of the Best, Illinois Monarch Award: K-3 Children's Choice Award Master List

Paper Over Board

Paper Over Board
Feiwel & Friends
September 2009
Paper Over Board
ISBN: 9780312367886
ISBN10: 0312367880
Chapter Book
6 x 9 inches, 144 pages, Black-and-white illustrations
Age Range: 4 to 8
Grade Range: p to 3 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 380L
F&P Level A-Z: M
AR Quiz Number: 108420
AR Book Level: 5.8
AR Points: 0.5

$14.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Square Fish
August 2010
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312653019
ISBN10: 0312653018
Chapter Book
6 x 9 inches, 144 pages, Black-and-white illustrations
Age Range: 4 to 8
Grade Range: p to 3 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 380LL
AR Quiz Number: 133421
AR Points: 0.5

$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Feiwel & Friends

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back