Prayers for Sale

Sandra Dallas

St. Martin's Griffin

Download Image Sandra Dallas Prayers for Sale

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

From the critically acclaimed author of Tallgrass comes a powerful novel about an unlikely friendship between two women and the secrets they’ve kept in order to survive life in a rugged Colorado mining town.

It’s 1936 and the Great Depression has taken its toll. Up in the high country of the snow-covered Rocky Mountains, eighty-six-year-old Hennie Comfort has lived in Middle Swan, Colorado, since before it was Colorado. When she first meets seventeen-year-old Nit Spindle, Hennie is drawn to the grieving young girl. Nit and her husband have come to this small mining town in search of work, but the loneliness and loss Nit feels are almost too much to bear. One day she notices an old sign that reads prayers for sale in front of Hennie’s house. Hennie doesn’t actually take money for her prayers, never has, but she invites the skinny girl in anyway. The harsh conditions of life that each has endured create an instant bond, and a friendship is born, one in which the deepest of hardships are shared and the darkest of secrets are confessed.

Sandra Dallas has created an unforgettable tale of a friendship between two women, one with surprising twists and turns, and one that is ultimately a revelation of the finest parts of the human spirit.

Connect with the Author

Sandra Dallas

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Sandra Dallas' historical novel Prayers for Sale. From the critically acclaimed author of Tallgrass comes a powerful novel about an unlikely friendship between two women and the secrets they've kept in order to survive life in a rugged Colorado mining town.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for Prayers for Sale

“Fans of Lee Smith, Sue Monk Kidd, and Kaye Gibbons will love this book.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Dallas is an amazing storyteller with a knack for historical fiction. Her writing is fresh and current even though she writes about the past. Her characters linger in the mind long after the story is finished.”—The Denver Post


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Sandra Dallas

Award-winning author Sandra Dallas was dubbed “a quintessential American voice” by Jane Smiley, in Vogue Magazine. She is the author of The Bride’s House, Whiter Than Snow, and Tallgrass, among others. Her novels have been translated into a dozen languages and optioned for films. She is the recipient of the Women Writing the West Willa Award and the two-time winner of the Western Writers of America Spur Award. For 25 years, Dallas worked as a reporter covering the Rocky Mountain region for Business Week, and started writing fiction in 1990. She lives with her husband in Denver, Colorado.

Sandra Dallas

Povy Kendal Archinson
Sandra Dallas

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Prayers for Sale
Sandra Dallas

Award

WILLA Literary Award - Finalist

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
February 2010
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312385194
ISBN10: 0312385196
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 352 pages
$13.99

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
April 2009
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427206169
ISBN10: 1427206163
Audio Run Time: 9:00
$19.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
April 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429962377
ISBN10: 1429962372
320 pages
$9.98
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Griffin

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back