The Scold's Bridle

A Novel

Minette Walters

Picador

Download Image Minette Walters The Scold's Bridle

Available Formats

Book

Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award
 

Dr. Sarah Blakeney is one of very few mourners when her grumpy old patient, Mathilda Gillespie, dies at home in the bathtub, apparently of suicide. The old woman has taken barbiturates, slit her wrists, and bound her head in a rusted contraption called a scold's bridle, a cage with tongue clamps used to torture women in the Middle Ages. The police start to suspect homicide right around the time they learn that Sarah has been generously included in the dead woman's will. When she becomes the prime suspect in the murder, it's up to Sarah to delve into the bizarre details of Mathilda's private life, a history of greed, abuse, and depravity, and uncover the real killer.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for The Scold's Bridle

"Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades."--Los Angeles Times
 
"Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing."--Orlando Sentinel
 
"Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot."--The Washington Post
 
"A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer."--The San Diego Union-Tribune
 
"Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters."--Minneapolis Star-Tribune

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Minette Walters

Minette Walters is the author of fourteen suspense novels and the winner of the Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, and the CWA John Creasey/New Blood Dagger Award, among others. Her work has been translated into twenty-six languages. She lives with her husband in Dorset, England.

Minette Walters

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Scold's Bridle
A Novel
Minette Walters

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
October 2007
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312427559
ISBN10: 0312427557
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 368 pages
$19.00
Back

From The Publisher

Picador

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back