A Brush with Death

A Penny Brannigan Mystery

A Penny Brannigan Mystery (Volume 2)

Elizabeth J. Duncan

St. Martin's Paperbacks

Download Image Elizabeth J. Duncan A Brush with Death

Available Formats

BookeBook

When Penny Brannigan moves to her cottage in the small Welsh town of Llanelen and begins sorting through the belongings of her benefactor, a deceased teacher, she comes upon a packet of love letters from a promising young Liverpool artist named A. Jones. An artist herself, Penny sets out to discover more about this mysterious painter who met a tragic end in an accident in 1970.

While at a retrospective art exhibition in Liverpool, Penny recognizes what she believes to be a watercolor painted by Jones. But it is attributed to another artist. Helped once more by a small group of townsfolk, including her enterprising business partner, Victoria Hopkirk, Penny sets out to prove her suspicion that art theft is at the heart of the case, and that Jones’s death was no accident.

In her eagerly awaited sequel Elizabeth J. Duncan wonderfully revisits the bustling Welsh town and vibrant characters introduced in The Cold Light of Mourning. With its lyrical prose and tantalizing puzzle, A Brush with Death is a real treat of a mystery novel.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for A Brush with Death

Acclaim for A Brush with Death

“Duncan is a born storyteller whose ability to create appealing characters, evoke a strong sense of place, and fashion a clever plot are accompanied by another gift: a faculty for writing flawlessly smooth prose. A Brush with Death is a close encounter with talent.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Duncan’s second is every bit as delightful as her debut…a smoothly written classic English mystery right up there with the best.”—Kirkus Reviews

 

“Duncan spends time developing the personal lives of her appealing main and secondary characters, and it is their relationships that provide much of the novel’s appeal, along with the well-realized Welsh setting and the many details about running a small business. Readers who enjoy the English village cozy mysteries of Dorothy Cannell and Nancy Atherton will want to take a look at this series.”—Booklist

“Absorbing.”—Publishers Weekly

“Duncan writes so well about the lives of people in a small village in Wales that the reader becomes immersed in their daily trials and tribulations…sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie.”—Library Journal

Praise for The Cold Light of Mourning

A gentle delight…sure to please fans of the classic English mystery.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A runaway bride is the linchpin of Canadian writer Duncan’s delightful debut...The scenic Welsh backdrop, village personalities and a budding romance for Penny add color and interest.” —Publishers Weekly

“Admirable and appealing...combines a worthy plot, a congenial heroine and a sure sense of place—Duncan’s depiction of village life is spot-on—to produce a story that nears perfection. Readers will want to see more of Penny—and more of Duncan’s pleasing prose.”—Richmond-Times Dispatch

“Duncan lulls readers with her soothing prose and depiction of small-town life in Wales and then startles them with a shocker of a denouement. Readers who enjoy Louise Penny, another Canadian mystery author of note, and Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden mysteries will love this one.”—Library Journal

“Well-developed characters and a nicely delineated Wales setting are what make this stylish cozy work.”—Booklist

“[S]torytelling with polished exposition, pacing and edgy dialogue. Characters sparkle, and the dark side that lurks just at the edge of most innocent scenes is drawn with skill and depth. A must-read.”—Hamilton Spectator


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Elizabeth J. Duncan

Elizabeth J. Duncan has worked as a writer and editor for some of Canada's largest newspapers, including the Ottawa Citizen and Hamilton Spectator. She lives with her dog, Dolly, in Toronto where she teaches in the public relations program at Humber College. She enjoys spending time each year in North Wales and is the first Canadian writer to win the Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition. The Cold Light of Mourning, her first novel, is also the winner of the William F. Deeck-Malice Domestic Grant and was shortlisted for an Agatha and an Arthur Ellis Award.

Elizabeth J. Duncan

Scuralli Photography, Toronto
Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

A Brush with Death
A Penny Brannigan Mystery
Elizabeth J. Duncan

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
April 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312534271
ISBN10: 0312534272
4 3/16 x 6 3/4 inches, 304 pages
$7.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
July 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429913072
ISBN10: 142991307X
272 pages
$2.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Paperbacks

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back