The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Eighth Annual Collection

Year's Best Science Fiction

edited by Gardner Dozois

St. Martin's Griffin

Download Image edited by Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Eighth Annual Collection

Available Formats


In the heart of the new millennium, worlds beyond our imagination have opened up, blurring the line between life and art. Embracing the challenges and possibilities of cyberspace, genetics, the universe, and beyond, the world of science fiction has become a porthole into the realities of tomorrow. In The Year’s Best Science Fiction Twenty-eighth Annual Collection our very best SF authors explore ideas of a new world with such compelling stories as:

“Chicken Little”: The Locus Award-winning author Cory Doctorow shows us a future where the rich keep getting richer, and intend to stay that way--no matter what.

“The Starship Mechanic”: Jay Lake and Ken Scholes join forces for a wry story that shows us that a workman is only as good as his tools—and that some of those tools are specialized for some very weird tasks indeed.

“The Night Train”: The prolific writer Lavie Tidhar brings us on a vivid, violent, and bizarre journey on The Night Train, where few of the passengers are what they appear to be, and death can strike from nowhere at any second along the way…

The thirty-three short stories in this collection imaginatively take us far across the universe, into the very core of our beings, to the realm of the gods, and the moment just after now.  Included here are the works of masters of the form and of bright new talents, including:

Nina Allan

Eleanor Arnason

Kage Baker

Stephen Baxter

Chris Beckett

Aliette de Bodard

Damien Broderick

Pat Cadigan

Brenda Cooper

Cory Doctorow

Joe Haldeman

Jim Hawkins

Alexander Jablokov

Ted Kosmatka

Jay Lake

Geoffrey A. Landis

Yoon Ha Lee,

Ian R. MacLeod

David Moles

Naomi Novik

Steven Popkes

Hannu Rajaniemi

Robert Reed

Alastair Reynolds

Ken Scholes

Allen M. Steele

Michael Swanwick

Rachel Swirsky

Lavie Tidhar

Carrie Vaughn

Peter Watts

Tad Williams


Supplementing the stories are the editor’s insightful summation of the year’s events and a lengthy list of honorable mentions, making this book both a valuable resource and the single best place in the universe to find stories that stir the imagination, and the heart.

Connect with the Author

Gardner Dozois

Related Links

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter

Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now


Praise for The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Eighth Annual Collection

“This series remains an excellent resource.”—Publishers Weekly

Praise for Gardner Dozois and The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-seventh Annual Collection:

“This smorgasbord of thought-provoking fiction ensures that any reader will likely find something appealing.” —Publishers Weekly

“Gardner Dozois’s long-running ‘best of’ series is rightly a favorite...Mr. Dozois picks fiction that deserves to be better known to a wide audience.” —The Wall Street Journal

Fifteen-time Winner of the Locus Award for Year's Best Anthology

In the Press

Fiction Review: The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Eighth Annual Collection by Edited by Gardner Dozois. St. Martin's Griffin, $21.99 (704p) ISBN 978-0-312-56950-1
This venerable annual series continues in its usual mode, emphasizing print magazines and anthologies and highlighting such established authors as Alastair Reynolds, Michael Swanwick, and Robert Reed
- Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads


About the Author

edited by Gardner Dozois

GARDNER DOZOIS has been working in the science fiction field for more than thirty years. For twenty years he was the editor of Asimov's Science Fiction, during which time he received the Hugo Award for Best Editor fifteen times.

Gardner Dozois

M.C. Valada
Gardner Dozois



Latest Blog Posts

4/17/2014 5:00:00 PM
4/17/2014 4:54:00 PM
4/17/2014 4:00:00 PM
More Blog Posts

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter


Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Eighth Annual Collection
edited by Gardner Dozois


Locus Awards - Winner


St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
July 2011
ISBN: 9780312546335
ISBN10: 0312546335
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 704 pages

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
July 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312569501
ISBN10: 0312569505
5.5 x 9.25 inches, 704 pages

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
July 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429983068
ISBN10: 142998306X
688 pages

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Griffin

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter