Power Down

A Dewey Andreas Novel (Volume 1 of 7)

Ben Coes

St. Martin's Press

Download Image Ben Coes Power Down

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn't take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun.

While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from Ben Coes, a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre's finest writers.

Connect with the Author

Ben Coes

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

POWER DOWN
(Chapter 1:CAPITANA TERRITORYPACIFIC OCEANAT 290 MILES OFF THE COAST OF COLOMBIA)

A hundred miles above the equator, a day's trip by boat from the nearest land, in a place where ocean currents collide beneath a vast horizon of black water and starry sky, a 1,500-foot double flame helix smoldered furiously from the cap end of an alloy gas fountain.

It was midnight. The flames could be seen for miles in all directions, interrupting the desolate waters in spectacular orange and black clouds. Though the billowing smoke and fire had the appearance of chaos, they were in fact controlled

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

Power Down by Ben Coes--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Ben Coes' thriller novel Power Down, introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas. A hydroelectric dam blows up and the largest off-shore oil field in the hemisphere is destroyed, killing legions of Americans and bringing the country's largest energy company to its knees.

Share This

Mitt Romney interviews author Ben Coes on his book Power Down

"Listen to this author interview of Mitt Romney talking with author Ben Coes about his thriller novel Power Down. Ben Coes is a former White House speechwriter and campaign manager. In Power Down, a hydroelectric dam blows up and the largest off-shore oil field in the hemisphere is destroyed, killing legions of Americans. Read more about the book Power Down at http://us.macmillan.com/PowerDown/BenCoes Learn more about author Ben Coes at http://us.macmillan.com/author/bencoes"

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for Power Down

"Power Down is terrific! With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year.  Don't miss this debut of novelist Ben Coes and the introduction of Dewey Andreas--you'll devour this one and wait anxiously for their return."—Vince Flynn, New York Times bestselling author of Pursuit of Honor

"A ripping thriller from an exciting new novelist.  Power Down kept me glued, turning the pages.  Lots of action, a terrific hero, and a slimy villain--thrillers don't get any better."—Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of The Disciple


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Ben Coes

BEN COES is a former speechwriter for the White House, was a fellow at the JFK School of Government at Harvard, a campaign manager for Mitt Romney’s 2002 Gubernatorial Campaign. Power Down is his first novel. He lives with his family in Wellesley, MA.

Ben Coes

Ben Coes

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
September 2010
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312580742
ISBN10: 0312580746
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 464 pages
$24.99

Unabridged Compact Disc

Unabridged  Compact Disc
Macmillan Audio
September 2010
Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9781427210371
ISBN10: 1427210373
5 7/8 x 5 1/8 inches, Audio Run Time: 16:00
$39.99

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
September 2010
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427210388
ISBN10: 1427210381
Audio Run Time: 16:27
$19.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
August 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312580759
ISBN10: 0312580754
4 1/8 x 7 1/2 inches, 640 pages
$9.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
March 2013
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9781250040138
ISBN10: 1250040132
4 1/8 x 7 1/2 inches, 640 pages
$5.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
September 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429948531
ISBN10: 1429948531
464 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back