The Well of Ascension

Book Two of Mistborn

Mistborn (Volume 2)

Brandon Sanderson

Tor Fantasy

Download Image Brandon Sanderson The Well of Ascension

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

Evil has been defeated. The war has just begun.

They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.

They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.

It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge.

Connect with the Author

Brandon Sanderson

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1

The army crept like a dark stain across the horizon.

King Elend Venture stood motionless upon the Luthadel city wall, looking out at the enemy troops. Around him, ash fell from the sky in fat, lazy flakes. It wasn’t the burnt white ash that one saw in dead coals; this was a deeper, harsher black ash. The Ashmounts had been particularly active lately.

Elend felt the ash dust his face and clothing, but he ignored it. In the distance, the bloody red sun was close to setting. It backlit the army that had come to take Elend’s kingdom from him.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for The Well of Ascension

Praise for The Well of Ascension:

“All the explosive action any adventure fan could want.”
--Locus

"Sanderson's entertaining second Mistborn novel begins after most fantasy series end, when the team of brave and cunning heroes find that holding on to power is even harder than overthrowing the previous tyrant. . . .  This entertaining read will especially please those who always wanted to know what happened after the good guys won."
--Publishers Weekly

“A great epic fantasy . . . Fans of Terry Goodkind and Terry Brooks will find The Well of Ascension fulfilling, satisfying, and incredibly exciting.”
--SFRevu.com


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Brandon Sanderson

BRANDON SANDERSON grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. In addition to completing Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time®, he is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn trilogy, Warbreaker, The Alloy of Law, The Way of Kings, Rithmatist, and Steelheart. He won the 2013 Hugo Award for “The Emperor’s Soul,” a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris.

Brandon Sanderson

Micah Demoux
Brandon Sanderson

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Well of Ascension
Book Two of Mistborn
Brandon Sanderson

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Fantasy
June 2008
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780765356130
ISBN10: 0765356139
4 3/16 x 6 3/4 inches, 816 pages
$8.99

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
December 2008
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427206381
ISBN10: 1427206384
Audio Run Time: 26:30
$29.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
August 2007
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780765316882
ISBN10: 0765316889
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 592 pages, Includes 1 map; Glossary
$29.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
April 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429961813
ISBN10: 1429961813
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 592 pages
$8.99
Back

From The Publisher

Tor Fantasy

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back