Lady Lazarus

Lady Lazarus (Volume 1)

Michele Lang

Tor Books

Download Image Michele Lang Lady Lazarus

Available Formats

BookeBook
With the romance of Twilight, the suspense of The Dresden Files, and the delicious thrills of True Blood, the enthralling saga of Magdalena Lazarus unfolds. Descended from the legendary witch of Ein Dor, she alone holds the power to summon the angel Raziel and stop Hitler and his supernatural minions from unleashing total war in Europe. The Nazis have fighters more fearsome than soldiers, weapons more terrifying than missiles, and allies that even they are afraid of SS werewolves; the demon Asmodel who possesses a willing Adolf Hitler, and other supernatural creatures all are literally hell-bent on preventing Magda from possessing the Book of Raziel, a magical text with the power to turn the tide against Hitler’s vast war machine.

Magda, young and rebellious, grew up in the cosmopolitan city of Budapest, unaware of her family’s heritage. When her mother dies, Magda--ready or not--is the Lazarus, who must face the evil that holds Europe in an iron grip. Unready to assume the mantle of her ancient birthright, but knowing that she must fight, she sets out across Europe searching for the Book. Magda is desperate enough to endanger her soul by summoning the avenging angel Raziel.  When she sees him in the glory of his celestial presence, her heart is utterly, completely lost… 

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for Lady Lazarus

“An absolutely unique protagonist in an engaging tale set against the backdrop of the greatest clash of good and evil in human history. What's not to love about Lady Lazarus?”
—Jim Butcher, bestselling author of The Dresden Files series

“With lyrical prose, a fascinating heroine, and a darkly powerful, emotional narrative, Lady Lazarus is simply magic. Intriguing, beautiful, and impossible to put down.”
—Meljean Brook, bestselling author of The Guardians urban fantasy romance series

“By cleverly mixing her fantastical creations into real history, Lang crafts a creative and tense story as all of Europe awaits the September invasion of Poland. Lang is a writer to watch and is sure to have wide appeal to fans of Jim Butcher, Kat Richardson, and other urban-fantasy A-listers. An outstanding debut.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Lang's fantastic tale will have you rooting for the heroine and holding your breath to see if a lone woman and her guardian angel will be able to free an entire continent from evil.”
RT Book Reviews (Four Stars)

“It's a dark little gem of a book. Strange and stirring and unlike any historical fantasy I've read before. I hope we'll hear a lot more from Ms. Lang.”
—Kat Richardson, bestselling author of The Greywalker series

“Lyrical, haunting and full of a dark, sublime beauty, Lady Lazarus is simply stunning.”
—Nalini Singh, New York Times bestselling author of Blaze of Memory

“Michele Lang's Lady Lazarus is a beautifully written tale set in a complex, alternate Nazi Europe. The characters are dark and well developed, and the author is a talented storyteller.”
—Faith Hunter, author of the Rogue Mage Series

“A skillful blend of fantasy adventure and period fantasy, this elegant story belongs in most fantasy collections and should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher's "The Dresden Files" series and Kat Richardson's "Greywalker" books.”
Library Journal

“A fascinating story and concept—a daughter of the Lazarus bloodline capable of rising from the dead.  Filled with adventure, imbued with history, and beautifully told.  Wish I had thought of it.”
—Sunny, bestselling author of Lucinda, Dangerously

“Lady Lazarus is brilliantly original and delicious to read. It's the sort of book that keeps you up all night and leaves you wanting more.”
—Diana Pharaoh Francis, author of Bitter Night


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Michele Lang

MICHELE LANG, like her protagonist, is the daughter of Hungarian Jewish parents. Neither a witch nor able to defy death like the Lazerii, she was inspired, nonetheless, by the selfless heroism of her family in WWII.  She lives on Long Island. 

Michele Lang

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Lady Lazarus
Michele Lang

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
May 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780765362957
ISBN10: 0765362953
4 3/16 x 6 3/4 inches, 320 pages
$7.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
August 2010
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780765323170
ISBN10: 0765323176
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$19.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Books
August 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429928533
ISBN10: 1429928530
320 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back