Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery

Poems

Pamela Sneed

Holt Paperbacks

Download Image Pamela Sneed Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery

Available Formats

Book
When daddy pushed me
and girlhood innocence
out my bedroom window
I picked up the shattered pieces of myself
and became a woman

Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery is lyrical and provocative, humorous and potent as it tackles both personal and contemporary issues of enslavement, sexuality, psychological trauma, and physical abuse. From beginning to end some of these poems chart the journey that is life and one woman's cycle of dependency as she recovers her lost identity. Thematically, it is bound by a writer's search for love and fight for freedom, drawing on the spirit and will of Harriet Tubman, the image of the bloated body of Emmett Till, the bombing of Philadelphia Move, and lesbian love. In the tradition of June Jordan and Sapphire, Pamela Sneed presents an in-your-face, powerful, and stirring debut.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery

"If a sledgehammer could whisper, its name would be Pamela Sneed."--The Boston Globe

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Pamela Sneed

Pamela Sneed, a New York-based performance poet, has graced the cover of New York magazine and was featured in The New York Times Magazine. She has performed at Lincoln Center, The Whitney Museum of Art, and in Berlin, Vienna, and London.

Pamela Sneed

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery
Poems
Pamela Sneed

Award

ALA Stonewall Book Award - Honor Book, Lambda Literary Award - Nominee

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Henry Holt and Co.
Holt Paperbacks
April 1998
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780805054743
ISBN10: 080505474X
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 80 pages
$12.00
Back

From The Publisher

Holt Paperbacks

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back