Terminal Point

A Strykers Syndicate Novel

Strykers Syndicate Series (Volume 2)

K. M. Ruiz

Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image K. M. Ruiz Terminal Point

Available Formats

BookeBook
Blade Runner meets X-Men in this follow-up to Mind Storm where humanity faces extinction and it’s up to a group of rogue psions to save society
 
Fans of Charles Stross and Hannu Rajaniemi will lose themselves in this adventure as Threnody Corwin and her team of rogue Strykers contend with the aftermath of the events in Mind Storm and the unlocking of a new kind of psion power. They’re on the run with Lucas Serca, who is closer than ever to destroying the World Court and his father’s grip on the planet. Targeting the hidden cache of the planet’s food supply meant to transform Mars into a paradise for the chosen few, Lucas triggers an escalating fight with the ruling government as worldwide chaos ensues. It’s up to Threnody to save society before it destroys itself, but the cost is high and in the end, there is no such thing as compromise.
 
There is only survival.


In Threnody Corwin, K. M. Ruiz has created the coolest and most bad-ass sci-fi heroine since Signourney Weaver portrayed Ripley in the Alien films and Terminal Point takes her to the next level.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

ONE
 
AUGUST 2379
SVEAGRUVA, NORWAY

They flew east into Bellsund, the arctic waters below mostly free of ice floes. The group of shuttles descended into the Van Mijenfjord beneath the government’s security grid, light from the midnight sun shining down on their wings. They stayed locked in tight formation, all nine following a route uploaded on another continent. The whine of the engines echoed eerily across the vast emptiness of the island they were approaching.
The Van Mijenfjord began to narrow after the first forty or so kilometers, the lack of airspace noticeable,

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Terminal Point

“There is more action in this explosive sequel. The final confrontation between Lukas and his confederates and Nathan will blow your mind….This is not your gentle discovery of psion talent (telepathy, empath, precog) found in early works of Anne McCaffrey or Andre Norton. It is powerful, violent adult science fiction.”—Examiner.com

“The action is nonstop, insanely violent and mostly lethal, like X-Men on steroids…It's a tribute to Ruiz's skill that, somehow, when a winner finally emerges, it's the one you've been rooting for.”—Kirkus

“Kaleidoscopically intricate shifting alliances and relationships, terrifying mental tortures, and near-death experiences and resurrections drive this saga of revolt and renewal and leave plenty of room for future installments.” —Publishers Weekly

“Earth is damaged beyond recovery, so the World Court, urged on by powerful magnate Nathan Serca, continues with its plans to transfer the "purest" members of humanity—those free of psionic genetic markers for five generations—to Mars, where a new life awaits them. Unwilling to die gracefully when their time comes, a group of rogue psions, led by Nathan's son Lucas, himself a powerful mutant, seeks to thwart the World Court's master plan. Guided by the visions of a prescient child from two centuries ago, Lucas and his team led by Threnody Corwin put into action a daring scheme that will either save or destroy the world.

 VERDICT This sequel to Mind Storm combines the rapid-fire pacing of superhero fiction with the cutting-edge technology and social dystopia of cyberpunk and should attract most sf readers.”—Library Journal

Praise for Mind Storm:

"K.M. Ruiz’s Mind Storm not only solidifies the beginning of an exciting new series, but heralds the debut of a notable new voice in the sci-fi genre." —Renee C. Fountain, New York Journal of Books

"The characters are fully fleshed out, with bureaucrats, shady businessmen, Mafia-like organizations, and soldiers. Each has an emotional depth that can be related to by the reader. Those who enjoy tales of telepathy and paranormal abilities will thoroughly enjoy this well-paced story." —Booklist

"Mind Storm hurls you two hundred and fifty years into a ferociously possible future where the mind has long since escaped the cage of the body and roams free and wild and dangerous. Total, delicious immersion into a world rendered startlingly real by white-hot writing skill." —Whitley Strieber, bestselling author of The Day After Tomorrow, The Hunger and Communion

"To term Mind Storm a thriller, even a post-apocalyptic thriller, doesn't fully describe the novel, because it's also a study in psychological deception and self-deception in a devastated future Earth where the greater the power one has, the greater the deception required, making the book both unsettling and a parable for our time." —L.E. Modesitt Jr., Bestselling author of Legacies

"A fast and furious vision of a very dark future...one of the best reads of the year." —Nate Kenyon, award-winning author of Sparrow Rock and Starcraft Ghost: Spectres

"Mutants, martyrs, mayhem, Mars, and the Mob--this book has it all and leaves you craving yet more of this broken and battered world." —Rob Thurman, author of The Cal Leandros and The Chimera series

"Two-hundred and fifty years after a nuclear war psion-mutant Threnody Corwin battles to stay alive in a cutthroat world where elites rule a twisted society. Mind Storm crackles with pent-up energy, fresh ideas, and crisp dialog.  It flies like a bullet!" —William C. Dietz, author of the Legion of the Damned series

"Heroine, Threnody Corwin battle[s] the supposedly human Serca Syndicate's psionic Warhounds in excruciating scenes of physical and mental agony, while...renegade...Lucas Serca dreams of saving the psions and unregistered human scavengers and making a better world...Ruiz's tale will appeal to military SF fans." —Publishers Weekly


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

K. M. Ruiz

K.M. RUIZ studied English and American Indian Studies at San Francisco State University. Her debut novel Mind Storm released in 2011. She lives in California.

K. M. Ruiz

Bryan Tan Photography
Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Terminal Point
A Strykers Syndicate Novel
K. M. Ruiz

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
June 2012
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781250012425
ISBN10: 1250012422
336 pages
$7.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
June 2012
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312681555
ISBN10: 0312681550
5 1/2 x 8.25 inches, 336 pages
$34.99
Back

From The Publisher

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back