Sons of Zeus

A Novel

Noble Smith

Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Noble Smith Sons of Zeus

Available Formats

BookeBook

In 431 B.C., Ancient Greece experienced its own “Pearl Harbor”—a treacherous sneak attack that would mark the start of the bloody war between the democracy of Athens and the tyranny of Sparta. Caught between these superpowers, the independent city-state of Plataea became the arena where their battle for control of all of Greece would begin.

In Plataea, the young Greek warrior Nikias dreams of glory in the Olympic games as he trains for the pankration—the no-holds-barred ultimate fighting of the era—until an act of violence in defense of his beloved threatens to send him into exile. But before his trial can take place, a traitor opens the city gates to a surprise attack force.

Suddenly trapped inside their own fortress, the Plataeans are fighting for their lives. As Nikias seeks to discover the identity of the man who betrayed the city, he makes a daring escape, gathers an army, and leads this ragtag band into a suicidal battle at the gates of the citadel—a battle that will decide the fates of his family, his friends, and the woman he loves.

In the vein of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, and Steven Pressfield, Sons of Zeus marks the beginning of a richly detailed new action-adventure series.

Connect with the Author

Mr. Noble Smith

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

ONE
 

NINE YEARS LATER. 431 BC.
THE CITY-STATE OF PLATAEA IN THE PLAINS OF THE OXLANDS.
MONTH OF AGRIONIOS (MARCH).
The fighters’ torsos were locked in place like two beams hewed and fitted by a master joiner. They leaned forward, heaving in unison, chest on chest and cheek to cheek. Both men’s fingers dug into the flesh of his opponent’s back as anchors and they struggled with bare feet to gain purchase in the deep sand of the farmyard arena.
Despite the cold evening the fighters trained naked and dog tied—the uncircumcised foreskin of their penises

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Sons of Zeus

Praise for Sons of Zeus:
 

“Those interested in ancient Greek history, particularly warfare, should be looking forward to the sequels.” —Historical Novels Review

 

"Noble Smith gobsmacked us with Sons of Zeus! It takes an author with real talent to engross us in a story. It takes even more talent for an author to convince us we're completely in his world.  The guy knows his subject!  But forget the meticulous research. Open the first page, sit back with your favorite beverage, and let Smith work his magic. Terrific action, with a wickedly brilliant plot, visceral combat, and nail-biting treachery, even the love story in Sons of Zeus is going to have you on the edge of your seat. In the end you'll be as delighted as we were to discover a skyrocketing new talent in historical fiction, and wanting more."

—W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear, authors of People of the Morning Star 

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Noble Smith

NOBLE SMITH is an award-winning playwright who has worked as a video-game writer, a documentary-film executive producer, and the media director of an international human rights foundation. He is also the author of the novella Stolen from Gypsies and the nonfiction book The Wisdom of the Shire: A Short Guide to a Long and Happy Life. He lives in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and children.

Mr. Noble Smith

Pavlina Ortiz
Mr. Noble Smith

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Sons of Zeus
A Novel
Noble Smith

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
June 2013
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250025579
ISBN10: 1250025575
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 336 pages, Includes one black-and-white map
$25.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Thomas Dunne Books
June 2013
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781250026422
ISBN10: 1250026423
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 336 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back