The Bone Orchard

A Novel

Mike Bowditch Mysteries (Volume 5)

Paul Doiron

Minotaur Books

Download Image Paul Doiron The Bone Orchard

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook
"The Bone Orchard [is] both a rich exploration of character and a satisfying mystery." —Bruce DeSilva, Associated Press"Excellent . . . Thoughtful plotting and strong characters raise this above the crime novel pack." Publishers weekly

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch has left the Maine Warden Service and is working as a fishing guide in the North Woods. But when his mentor Sgt. Kathy Frost is forced to kill a troubled war veteran in an apparent case of "suicide by cop," he begins having second thoughts about his decision.

Now Kathy finds herself the target of a government inquiry and outrage from the dead soldier's platoon mates. Soon she finds herself in the sights of a sniper, as well. When the sergeant is shot outside her farmhouse, Mike joins the hunt to find the mysterious man responsible. To do so, the ex-warden must plunge into his friend's secret past—even as a beautiful woman from Mike's own past returns, throwing into jeopardy his tentative romance with wildlife biologist Stacey Stevens. 

As Kathy Frost lies on the brink of death and a dangerous shooter stalks the blueberry barrens of central Maine, Bowditch is forced to confront the choices he has made and determine, once and for all, the kind of man he truly is, in The Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

1

 

When I think of Jimmy Gammon now, I remember the way he was before the war: a redheaded, freckled-faced kid with a body like a greyhound, all arms and legs, with a jutting rib cage he’d gotten running up and down the hills of midcoast Maine.

Jimmy had just graduated from Dartmouth, the alma mater of his father, James Sr., and, like his father, he was planning to make a career in the law and politics. The elder Gammon had been decorated for bravery as an infantry lieutenant in Vietnam and belonged to a generation that believed military service was a necessary

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Reviews

Praise for The Bone Orchard

"Massacre Pond is a tough act to follow, but Doiron avoids series stagnancy by placing Bowditch outside of the law-enforcement circle he once loved and treating readers to another round of top-notch outdoors-Maine descrition. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson." —Booklist

"Excellent . . . Thoughtful plotting and strong characters raise this above the crime novel pack." —Publishers weekly (starred review)

"Vivid local characters and wild Maine landscapes, as well as a satisfying mystery. Recommended for readers who appreciate maverick backwoods investigators like Steve Hamilton’s Alex McKnight." —Library Journal

Bad Little Falls is a jewel of a book.  Doiron has gotten it all magnificently right: a hell of a good mystery, beautifully drawn landscape and characters so evocatively written they follow you off the page.  Buy this.  The guy can write.” —Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of Rope

“A high-stakes, high-tension yarn in which you keep wishing everything would turn out fine for the deeply flawed, deeply sympathetic hero.” —Kirkus

“Excellent . . . a murder case with some truly wicked twists. Dorion matches strong characters with effective prose and subtle characterizations. Fans of Steve Hamilton’s Alex McKnight series, likewise set in a remote region close to Canada, will find a lot to like.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Paul Doiron

Bestselling author PAUL DOIRON is the editor in chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University and holds an MFA from Emerson College. His first book, The Poacher's Son, is the winner of the Barry award, the Strand award for best first novel, and a finalist for the Edgar and Anthony awards. Paul is a Registered Maine Guide and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

Paul Doiron

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Bone Orchard
A Novel
Paul Doiron

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
July 2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781250034878
ISBN10: 1250034876
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$12.99

Unabridged Compact Disc

Unabridged  Compact Disc
Macmillan Audio
July 2014
Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9781427240972
ISBN10: 1427240973
Audio Run Time: 10:00
$39.99

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
July 2014
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427240989
ISBN10: 1427240981
Audio Run Time: 10:00
$23.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
July 2014
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250034885
ISBN10: 1250034884
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$25.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back