The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

A Berger and Mitry Mystery

Berger and Mitry Mysteries (Volume 10)

David Handler

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image David Handler The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

Available Formats

BookeBook

The historic New England village of Dorset has actually elected a living, breathing woman as its First Selectman. And now she’s about to undertake the Historic District’s biggest public works project in a generation–the widening and re-grading of Dorset Street. The job has needed doing for ages but the  previous First Selectman, Bob Paffin, always opposed it. So did a lot of Dorset’s blue-blooded old guard. 

The long put-off dig uncovers a body buried underneath the pavement in front of the Congregational Church. It belongs to Lt. Lance Paffin, Bob Paffin’s older brother, a dashing U.S. Navy flyer who went missing off his sailboat the night of the country club’s spring dance more than forty years ago. Everyone had assumed he just left town. But now it's clear Lance has been under Dorset Street this whole time, and that he was murdered.

Des and Mitch soon discover that there are deep, dark secrets surrounding Dorset's elite, and some very distinguished careers have been built on lies. Coal Black Asphalt Tomb is the tenth in David Handler's original and very funny Berger and Mitry mystery series featuring this engaging biracial couple.

Connect with the Author

David Handler

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
 
 
BA-BOOMP-BOOM-PAH … BA-BOOMP-BOOM-PAH …
Des still couldn’t get used to it as she idled there in front of the firehouse in her Crown Vic, heater blasting on this damp, chilly April morning. She couldn’t get used to these privileged, pigment-challenged high school kids blasting gangsta rap on the sound systems of their BMWs and Mini Coopers as they came roaring through the Dorset Street Historic District to school, slowing their preppy selves down to the twenty-five mph speed limit only because they saw her there.

Read the full excerpt


Back

Reviews

Praise for The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb

“Warm and cozy...The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution.”—Publishers Weekly

“Handler's The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb (following The Snow White Christmas Cookie and The Blood Red Indian Summer) is an excellent addition to the wonderfully whacky and intriguing Des Mitry and Mitch Berger series. It is highly recommended for fans of cold case mysteries and Agatha Christie-like whodunits. It's a playful, eye-opening reminder that one day I will be old. Then my tomb will inevitably follow. I just hope mine isn't made of coal black asphalt. Until then, I'll be waiting impatiently for the next Mitch Berger and Des Mitry mystery.”—Gumshoe Review

“Filled with the colorful characters that David Handler has led us to expect along with great film references, The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb is absolutely fun and charming, and fans of this series are going to want it right away”— Seattle's Mystery Bookshop

Praise for David Handler:

"Neither rain, nor sleet, nor dark of night can keep postmen from their appointed rounds. But how about murder?...Fans of Des and Mitch will giggle as Mitch decorates his Hanukkah bush with her teeny weeny yellow bikini."—Kirkus Reviews on The Show White Christmas Cookie

"Laugh-out-loud humor, zany characters, suspicious deaths and a freezing-cold, holiday setting make David Handler's The Snow White Christmas Cookie a must read. Fans of Christmas mysteries...won't be disappointed."—Gumshoe

"A must read for fans of hilarious crime dramas . . . The Blood Red Indian Summer is a whirlwind of hilarity, mystery . . . and romance. It is best described by a one-word expression that is often used by Mitch Berger's dad, Chat: 'Sa-weet.'" —Gumshoe Review

"Series fans will have fun catching up with the latest twists in the always interesting relationship of this interracial couple." —Publishers Weekly on The Shimmering Blond

"Well paced and cheerfully written, this book has a number of fun perks." —RT Book Reviews (4 stars) on The Shimmering Blond

Praise for The Snow White Christmas Cookie:

"Police procedure frames this complex tale set in small-town Dorset, Connecticut. An appealing mix of procedural and cozy." —Booklist

"Funny, smart and the perfect antidote to the seasonal treacle, The Snow White Christmas Cookie—the ninth novel by David Handler in the excellent Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry series—turns the Christmas cozy on its head . . . Don’t mistake this for a traditional holiday novel with lots of cute bits. Handler knows how much sugar needs a dose of realism." —The Globe and Mail


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

David Handler

DAVID HANDLER is an Edgar Award winner and Anthony, Derringer, and Dilys Award finalist. He has written extensively for television and films. David is the author of Runaway Man, Snow White Christmas Cookie, Blood Red Indian Summer and Shimmering Blond Sister. He lives in a two-hundred-year-old carriage house in Old Lyme, Connecticut.

David Handler

Photo: D. L. Drake
David Handler

Official Sites

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Coal Black Asphalt Tomb
A Berger and Mitry Mystery
David Handler

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2014
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250041975
ISBN10: 125004197X
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 240 pages
$25.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
March 2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466839182
ISBN10: 146683918X
240 pages
$12.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back