A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

A Dandy Gilver Mystery

Dandy Gilver (Volume 4)

Catriona McPherson

Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books

Download Image Catriona McPherson A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Available Formats

BookeBook

"Highly recommended for fans of Downton Abbey."
—G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author the Max Tudor mysteries

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. 

In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious— and deadly—events.

The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel.

But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Praise for A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Advance Praise for A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

“I adore Dandy Gilver. Catriona McPherson’s story captures an era, a class, and our hearts.”
—Laurie R. King, author of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and The Bones of Paris
 
“The writing is pitch perfect and brilliantly funny. Dandy Gilver is a joy.”
 —Frances Brody, author of the Kate Shackleton Mystery series

“A delightful romp, you’ll have the time of your life.” 
—Victoria Thompson, author of Murder in Murray Hill

“Dandy Gilver is marvelously, hopelessly, hilariously wonderful.  If you haven’t discovered Catriona McPherson yet, it’s time to start!”  
—Charles Todd, author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery series

Praise for the Dandy Gilver mysteries

"Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs . . . [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs."
Publishers Weekly

"Witty, humorous, and thoroughly good."
—M.C. Beaton

“Guaranteed to appeal to those who never got over the death of Dorothy L. Sayers.”
Financial Times (UK)

“Dandy Gilver is enthralling; part Dorothy Parker, part Miss Marple, utterly engaging.”
—Kirsty Scott, author of Mother’s Day

“A bit P.G. Wodehouse, a little Patricia Wentworth, a lot Maisie Dobbs… Read this: if you liked Gosford Park, Upstairs, Downstairs, Downton Abbey, Jacqueline Winspear or P.G. Wodehouse.”
—The Picky Girl blog

"Charming. Clever. Hilarious. Ingenious. Adorable. Brilliantly embraces the Golden Age of mystery.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity-winning author of The Other Woman

"Not since Maisie Dobbs first surfaced has there been a pluckier or more winning heroine.” 
—Charles Finch, author of The Fleet Street Murders

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Catriona McPherson

CATRIONA MCPHERSON was born near Edinburgh. Dandy Gilver and The Proper Treatment of Bloodstains won the Sue Feder Memorial Award in 2012 and Dandy Gilver and An Unsuitable Day for A Murder won the Agatha for Best Historical Novel in the same year. The series won the Bruce Alexander Award in 2013 and 2014. Catriona lives in Davis, California, with her husband and two cats.

Catriona McPherson

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

A Deadly Measure of Brimstone
A Dandy Gilver Mystery
Catriona McPherson

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
11/18/2014
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250053978
ISBN10: 1250053978
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$26.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books
11/18/2014
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466856790
ISBN10: 1466856793
304 pages
$12.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back