Power Down

A Dewey Andreas Novel (Volume 1 of 7)

Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

Macmillan Audio

Download Image Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann Power Down

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook
Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun.
 
While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

POWER DOWN
(Chapter 1:CAPITANA TERRITORYPACIFIC OCEANAT 290 MILES OFF THE COAST OF COLOMBIA)

A hundred miles above the equator, a day's trip by boat from the nearest land, in a place where ocean currents collide beneath a vast horizon of black water and starry sky, a 1,500-foot double flame helix smoldered furiously from the cap end of an alloy gas fountain.

It was midnight. The flames could be seen for miles in all directions, interrupting the desolate waters in spectacular orange and black clouds. Though the billowing smoke and fire had the appearance of chaos, they were in fact controlled

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

Power Down by Ben Coes--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Ben Coes' thriller novel Power Down, introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas. A hydroelectric dam blows up and the largest off-shore oil field in the hemisphere is destroyed, killing legions of Americans and bringing the country's largest energy company to its knees.

Share This

Mitt Romney interviews author Ben Coes on his book Power Down

"Listen to this author interview of Mitt Romney talking with author Ben Coes about his thriller novel Power Down. Ben Coes is a former White House speechwriter and campaign manager. In Power Down, a hydroelectric dam blows up and the largest off-shore oil field in the hemisphere is destroyed, killing legions of Americans. Read more about the book Power Down at http://us.macmillan.com/PowerDown/BenCoes Learn more about author Ben Coes at http://us.macmillan.com/author/bencoes"

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for Power Down

“… Hermann ultimately manages to bring to life a hero who has no hesitation in killing and who is suspicious of nearly everyone who tries to help. Well done, Coes and Hermann both – don’t make us wait too long for the next appearance of this dynamic character. ” – Library Journal Starred Review, Best Audiobooks of 2010
 
 
“Peter Hermann's powerful narration—enhanced by sounds of rapid gunfire, explosions, and the moans of victims—is a perfect fit for Ben Coe's debut thriller.” – AudioFile Magazine

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

BEN COES is a former speechwriter for the White House, was a fellow at the JFK School of Government at Harvard, a campaign manager for Mitt Romney's 2002 Gubernatorial Campaign. Power Down is his first novel. He lives with his family in Wellesley, MA.

Ben Coes
Christoph Hermann

Ben Coes

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Power Down
Ben Coes, read by Christoph Hermann

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
September 2010
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427210388
ISBN10: 1427210381
Audio Run Time: 16:27
$19.99

Unabridged Compact Disc

Unabridged  Compact Disc
Macmillan Audio
September 2010
Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9781427210371
ISBN10: 1427210373
5 7/8 x 5 1/8 inches, Audio Run Time: 16:00
$39.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
September 2010
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312580742
ISBN10: 0312580746
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 464 pages
$24.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
August 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312580759
ISBN10: 0312580754
4 1/8 x 7 1/2 inches, 640 pages
$9.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
March 2013
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9781250040138
ISBN10: 1250040132
4 1/8 x 7 1/2 inches, 640 pages
$5.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
September 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429948531
ISBN10: 1429948531
464 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back