First Grave on the Right

Charley Davidson Series (Volume 1)

Darynda Jones

Macmillan Audio

Download Image Darynda Jones First Grave on the Right
Award

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook
First Grave on the Right is the smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper.
 
Charley sees dead people. That's right, she sees dead people. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e., murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.
 
This is a thrilling debut novel from Darynda Jones, an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense.
 
First Grave on the Right is the winner of the 2012 Rita Award for Best First Book.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT (Chapter One)

Better to see dead than be dead.

—CHARLOTTE JEAN DAVIDSON, GRIM REAPER

I’d been having the same dream for the past month—the one where a dark stranger materialized out of smoke and shadows to play doctor with me. I was starting to wonder if repetitive exposure to nightly hallucinations resulting in earth-shattering climaxes could have any long-term side effects. Death via extreme pleasure was a serious concern. The prospect led to the following dilemma: Do I seek help or buy drinks all around?

This night was no exception.

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Watch and Listen

Meet Charley Davidson

Video for First Grave on the Right, the debut novel from Darynda Jones.

Share This

First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Darynda Jones' First Grave on the Right, a smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That's right, she sees dead people. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light."

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for First Grave on the Right

“Sexy, sassy . . . Jones’s characters, both living and dead, are colorful and endearing. . . . Cheeky charm . . . sarcastic wit.”The Associated Press

“Jones’s wickedly witty debut will delight aficionados of such humorous paranormals as Casey Daniels’s Pepper Martin Mysteries and Dakota Cassidy’s Accidental Friends series.”—Booklist (starred review)

 “Jones skillfully establishes the novel’s setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let’s be honest—the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“Fast-talking Charley’s wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich and maybe fill a hole for those mourning the recently canceled Ghost Whisperer.”—Publishers Weekly

“Jones makes a truly memorable debut with her unique tale that is sexy, mysterious, and sarcastically fun!”—RT Books Reviews

“It’s a fun, sexy, exciting read.”—Suspense Magazine

“A true paranormal princess has been proclaimed. Bravo Ms. Jones, you have just hit the big time. . . . A brilliant novel . . . Do not walk; run to get your copy of First Grave on the Right when it debuts.”—Night Owl Reviews

This book is full of surprises and fun to be had for all. I barely finished this book and already can’t wait to visit with Charley Davidson again in the next novel, Second Grave on the Left. First Grave on the Right deserves nothing less than a Five Angel, Recommend Read status.”Fallen Angel Reviews

“Hold on to your hats and get comfortable, you won’t want to get up for a long, long time as Charley Davidson sweeps you in and holds on tight.”—The Romance Reviews

“A smashing, award-winning debut novel.”—Goodreads

“In the currently crowded paranormal world, First Grave on the Right is a bright beacon of originality. Jones writes with a sharp, addictively acerbic sense of humor, and she combines genres with the carefully controlled precision of a master literary mixologist.”Reader to Reader . . .

“A fast and fun read [that] will leave you begging for more. Second Grave on the Left is due out in August, and I can’t wait.”Fresh Fiction

“This book takes a humorous view on the old Grim Reaper cliché. Charley is a smart, enjoyable character with enough snark to keep one laughing even as the plot darkens.”Affaire de Coeur

“The best debut novel I’ve read in years! Hilarious and heartfelt, sexy and surprising . . . I’m begging for the next one!!”—J. R. Ward, New York Times bestselling author of Lover Avenged

“I am furiously envious of Darynda Jones and rue the day she came up with this concept, damn her eyes. First Grave on the Right . . . kidnapped me from the first paragraph, and didn’t let go until the exceedingly yummy conclusion.”—MaryJanice Davidson, New York Times bestselling author of Undead and Unwelcome and Me, Myself and Why?

First Grave on the Right is smart, sharp, and wickedly entertaining. Grab this one.”—Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times bestselling author of Fired Up

First Grave on the Right is witty, darkly thrilling, and oh, so sexy!”—Gena Showalter, New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Whisper

First Grave on the Right is a phenomenal debut! This series opener has it all—rollicking humor, sizzling sexual tension, and a spine-tingling mystery. I’m eagerly awaiting the next Charley Davidson tale!”—Kresley Cole, New York Times bestselling author of Pleasure of a Dark Prince


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Darynda Jones

DARYNDA JONES lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than twenty-five years and two beautiful sons, aka the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

Darynda Jones
Lorelei King

Donita Massey
Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

First Grave on the Right
Darynda Jones

Award

Audie Award Finalist, Rita Award - Winner

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
February 2011
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427211316
ISBN10: 1427211310
Audio Run Time: 9:30
$19.99

Unabridged Compact Disc

Unabridged  Compact Disc
Macmillan Audio
February 2011
Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9781427211309
ISBN10: 1427211302
Audio Run Time: 9:30
$39.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Paperbacks
November 2011
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312360801
ISBN10: 0312360800
4 1/8 x 6 3/4 inches, 352 pages
$7.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
July 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312577421
ISBN10: 0312577427
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 336 pages
$16.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
February 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429993265
ISBN10: 142999326X
320 pages
$2.99
Back

From The Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back