My Heart Is an Idiot

Essays

Davy Rothbart; Read by the author

Macmillan Audio

Download Image Davy Rothbart; Read by the author My Heart Is an Idiot

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.

But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

Connect with the Author

Davy Rothbart

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

BIGGER AND DEAFER
 
 
When I was a kid, I had a friend down the street named Kwame whose older brother was mentally handicapped. This gave Kwame license, he felt, to make fun of other mentally handicapped folks he encountered. If anyone gave him grief for it, he’d say, “Hey, I’m just playin’ around—my brother’s a retard.” Kwame used to dropkick retard jokes right in his brother’s face. “He’s my brother, I’m allowed to fuck with him,” he’d always explain.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Media

Listen

My Heart Is An Idiot: Essays by Davy Rothbart--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from the essay collection My Heart is an Idiot, by author Davy Rothbart. Read by the author.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for My Heart Is an Idiot

“THIS BOOK IS F---ING GREAT! Nobody writes quite like Davy Rothbart, because nobody lives quite like Davy Rothbart—a true and funny ragged-hearted seeker of ecstasy, mystery, and human connection. My Heart Is an Idiot contains some of the most perfect and heartbreaking writing that I have ever read.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

“Welcome to the newly remodeled Heartbreak Hotel, where Davy Rothbart is concierge. He’ll also unpack your underwear, restock your minibar, and do stand-up comedy in the lounge.” —Tom Robbins

“In Davy Rothbart’s essays on heartache, mad love, the low life, and the high life, everybody is fascinating; everybody has something to say. The sentences speed you along down one narrative highway after another, and your tour guide is smart and funny and a real democrat: he has a sweet-tempered openness to experience that wins you over. This book breathes new life back into the personal essay, and these essays are a trip. Take that trip.” —Charles Baxter

“Tender, cool, funny, and utterly engaging, Davy Rothbart writes with a kind of warmth and cockeyed energy that make you love him. This book is marvelous.” —Susan Orlean

“An intriguing hybrid of timeless Midwestern warmth and newfangled jive talk.” Sarah Vowell

“Davy Rothbart has the humor and purity of heart you want and need in an observer of contemporary American life. Without guile and with a belief in small towns, underdogs, love at first sight, the pull of the road, and the soulfulness of strangers, Rothbart is a kind of new-styled Bill Moyers—genuine, wide-eyed, and hopeful.” —Dave Eggers

“I believe in Davy. He's a force to be reckoned with.” —Ira Glass

 

“Davy’s as real as it gets. This is a badass book.” —Kid Rock

“Davy’s my kind of storyteller—honest, hilarious, deeply feeling, and slightly cracked. This is the fresh voice we’ve been looking for.”—Jim Carroll, author of The Basketball Diaries

 

Praise for The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas
 

“Davy writes with his whole heart. These stories are crushing.” —Arthur Miller

 

“It's always exciting to discover a talented new writer. Davy writes with such energy, wit, and heart.” —Judy Blume

 

“Like Kerouac's best novels, these stories are breezy and energetic dispatches from obscure corners of the country... Rothbart mines his material to heartbreaking effect.” —The Washington Post

 

“It is storytelling at its simplest and finest…a blend of melancholy and bravado.  It’s the pleasure of Rothbart’s writing that each yarn begins with a moment that feels so real and yet so out of the ordinary that you’re hooked from the opening scene.” —The Chicago Tribune

 

“Funny, flashy... a great whirlwind.” —The Los Angeles Times

 

“Provocative, original, and potent—at one moment hilarious, at the next heartbreaking... robust with flavor... we're left yearning for more.” —Elle

 

“Beautiful… Rothbart finds poetry, dignity and oddity in the mundane and fleeting moments of everyday life.” —Philadelphia City-Paper

 

“Witty and heartfelt as well as salty and somber, it's a 162-page romp­—eight pieces of short fiction featuring folks who don't always make the best decisions, but somehow, as Bruce Springsteen once put it, come to the end of every hard-earned day with a reason to believe.” —The Kansas City Star

 

“Stunning and intimate… Rothbart shines a light on America’s underbelly.”   —The Boston Phoenix

 

“Recalls Fitzgerald and Kerouac... Rothbart's characters dare to seek adventure.” —L.A. Weekly

 

“A truly wonderful and daring first collection.” —The Grand Rapids (Mich.) Press

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Davy Rothbart; Read by the author

Davy Rothbart is a frequent contributor to This American Life and a variety of magazines, the founder of Found Magazine and the editor of its various bestselling anthologies, and the author of The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He was born and raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he still lives. My Heart Is an Idiot is his fourth book.

Davy Rothbart

© Dorothy Gotlib
Davy Rothbart

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

My Heart Is an Idiot
Essays
Davy Rothbart; Read by the author

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
September 2012
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427225733
ISBN10: 1427225737
Audio Run Time: 9:00
$19.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
September 2012
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780374280840
ISBN10: 0374280843
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$25.00

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
September 2013
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9781250037725
ISBN10: 1250037727
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$16.00

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
September 2012
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466802469
ISBN10: 1466802464
320 pages
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back