The Book of Love

A Treasury Inspired By The Greatest of Virtues

Andrew M. Greeley and Mary G. Durkin

Forge Books

Download Image Andrew M. Greeley and Mary G. Durkin The Book of Love

Available Formats

BookeBook
Love. Of all the virtues that have been passed on to us through the ages, from the great poets to the saints and scholars, throughout history and literature, love is the one virtue that we as a society cannot live without.

The ability to love well and to love wisely is the most important trait that parents can pass on to their children. As children grow, the longing to share this love as well as receive it will remain strong throughout their lives.

Bestselling author Andrew M. Greeley and his sister, Dr. Mary G. Durkin have complied a beautiful and inspiring anthology that will help us comprehend this the most important of virtues and also help us express and understand what it means to love, and how to love wisely. The Book of Love is a perfect gift for a parent to give to a child, for relatives or friends to share, or for those who are coming to know this virtue in all its glory. People of all nations, creeds, colors, and denominations will appreciate this treasury of essays, poems, stories, and songs reflecting the one human need that has remained constant: Love.

It has been written about in the Bible, and it was passed down orally in myth and legend. It was discussed by the Chinese philosopher Confucius and in the Koran, and it inspired great works of literature and the pages of popular fiction. The Book of Love is a testament to the enduring nature of our own good, a good expressed through the human bond. In the tradition of William J. Bennett's The Book of Virtue, The Book of Love is a collection to be treasured, and shared, but most of all, it will guide us to express and to pass on the greatest of life's virtues: Love.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER ONE
 
Generic Love:
A Many-Splendored Thing
 
 
To love deeply in one direction makes us more loving in all directions.
Madame Switchine
 
I do love I know not what;
Sometimes this and sometimes that.
Robert Herrick
 
There is only one kind of love, but there are a thousand different versions.
François de la Rochefoucauld
 
 
Love, it is said, is a many-splendored thing. The various experiences of love, as well as the effects of each experience and the interplay between them, give love its claim to splendor.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for The Book of Love

"Father Andrew M. Greeley has been for more than a generation one of America's most recognizable Catholic voices. . . . Insightful and witty."-Los Angeles Times

"Nobody has ever left the church because of an Andrew Greeley work, but many have been attracted back to it by him."--Reverend Ron Rolheiser, O.M.I.

"Greeley is a wizard at spinning a yarn!"-Associated Press

"A master storyteller!"-Nelson DeMille

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Andrew M. Greeley and Mary G. Durkin

Priest, sociologist, author and journalist, Father Andrew M. Greeley built an international assemblage of devout fans over a career spanning five decades. His books include the Bishop Blackie Ryan novels, including The Archbishop in Andalusia, the Nuala Anne McGrail novels, including Irish Tweed, and The Cardinal Virtues. He was the author of over 50 best-selling novels and more than 100 works of non-fiction, and his writing has been translated into 12 languages.

Father Greeley was a Professor of Sociology at the University of Arizona and a Research Associate with the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) at the University of Chicago. In addition to scholarly studies and popular fiction, for many years he penned a weekly column appearing in the Chicago Sun-Times and other newspapers. He was also a frequent contributor to The New York Times, the National Catholic Reporter, America and Commonweal, and was interviewed regularly on national radio and television. He authored hundreds of articles on sociological topics, ranging from school desegregation to elder sex to politics and the environment.

Throughout his priesthood, Father Greeley unflinchingly urged his beloved Church to become more responsive to evolving concerns of Catholics everywhere. His clear writing style, consistent themes and celebrity stature made him a leading spokesperson for generations of Catholics. He chronicled his service to the Church in two autobiographies, Confessions of a Parish Priest and Furthermore!

In 1986, Father Greeley established a $1 million Catholic Inner-City School Fund, providing scholarships and financial support to schools in the Chicago Archdiocese with a minority student body of more than 50 percent. In 1984, he contributed a $1 million endowment to establish a chair in Roman Catholic Studies at the University of Chicago. He also funded an annual lecture series, “The Church in Society,” at St. Mary of the Lake Seminary, Mundelein, Illinois, from which he received his S.T.L. in 1954.

Father Greeley received many honors and awards, including honorary degrees from the National University of Ireland at Galway, the University of Arizona and Bard College. A Chicago native, he earned his M.A. in 1961 and his Ph.D. in 1962 from the University of Chicago.

Father Greeley was a penetrating student of popular culture, deeply engaged with the world around him, and a lifelong Chicago sports fan, cheering for the Bulls, Bears and the Cubs. Born in 1928, he died in May 2013 at the age of 85.

Mary G. Durkin has been writing lecturing, teaching, running workshops, and participating in symposia since 1960. A pastoral theologian, she has taught university courses on marriage and family. She authored books on women, family, marriage, and sexuality and has participated on panels with other experts in these areas both in the United States and in Europe. She resides in a Chicago suburb. She is the mother of several children and fifteen grandchildren.

Andrew M. Greeley
Mary G. Durkin

Jane Silvestrii
Andrew M. Greeley

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Book of Love
A Treasury Inspired By The Greatest of Virtues
Andrew M. Greeley and Mary G. Durkin

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Forge Books
January 2008
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429918251
ISBN10: 142991825X
512 pages
$7.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Tom Doherty Associates
Forge Books
February 2005
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312878382
ISBN10: 0312878389
5 3/4 x 8 15/16 inches, 512 pages
$22.99
Back

From The Publisher

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back