City of Fire

City Trilogy (Volume 1 of 3)

Laurence Yep

Starscape

Download Image Laurence Yep City of Fire

Available Formats

BookeBook

Two-time Newbery Honor Award-winning author Laurence Yep kicks off an action-packed new fantasy trilogy

Sure to appeal to fans of Rick Riordan and Eoin Colfer, this action-packed tale takes readers on an unforgettable journey through an alternate version of our world in 1941—a world filled with magical beings such as dragons in human form, tiny “lap griffins,” reincarnations of legendary Chinese warriors, Japanese folk creatures, and goddesses in disguise.

When her older sister dies trying to prevent the theft of one of her people’s great treasures, twelve-year-old Scirye sets out to avenge her and recover the precious item. Helping her are Bayang, a dragon disguised as a Pinkerton agent; Leech, a boy with powers he has not yet discovered; and Leech’s loyal companion Koko, who has a secret of his own. All have a grudge against the thieves who stole the treasure: the evil dragon Badik and the mysterious Mr. Roland.

Scirye and her companions pursue the thieves to Houlani, a new Hawaiian island being created by magic. There, they befriend Pele, the volatile and mercurial goddess of volcanoes. But even with Pele on their side, they may not be able to stop Mr. Roland from gaining what he seeks: the Five Lost Treasures of Emperor Yu. Together, the treasures will give him the power to alter the very fabric of the universe.

Connect with the Author

Laurence Yep

Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Angrily, Scirye chased after the brown-haired boy who had stopped in front of the shattered case with the throwing stars. “This is no place for you,” she ordered, pulling at Leech’s arm. “You’ll just get in the way.”

“Playtime’s over,” Leech snapped at her, “so take your costume and get lost. Leave this to people who know how to fight.”

The boy was holding one of the stars like a spiked baseball. 

Scirye gave a snort of disgust. “You don’t even know how to use one of those,” she snapped

Read the full excerpt

Back

Media

Watch

Book Trailer: City of Fire by Laurence Yep

Two-time Newbery Honor Award-winning author Laurence Yep kicks off an action-packed new fantasy trilogy Sure to appeal to fans of Rick Riordan and Eoin Colfer, this action-packed tale takes readers on an unforgettable journey through an alternate version of our world in 1941—a world filled with magical beings such as dragons in human form, tiny lap griffins, reincarnations of legendary Chinese warriors, Japanese folk creatures, and goddesses in disguise.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for City of Fire

“Stuffed with intricate detail and complemented by a short note indicating a connection to real-world history, this first installment in a new trilogy introduces the characters, who host the story in alternating chapters, and sends the intrepid band on a hair-raising quest….Readers will be on tenterhooks awaiting the next episode of this exhilarating chase.—Booklist

“Yep’s writing is absolutely fantastic, and the blending of many cultures is done with grace and skill….It’s a lot of fun and promise sequels of equal caliber.”—School Library Journal Book Reviews by Young Adults

“The cast is as engaging as it is diverse.”—Kirkus Reviews

“In his new book, [Yep] again combines his regular themes of history, fantasy, and Asian culture into an exciting YA story set in an alternate world of 1941. City of Fire brings to life ancient myth and legend, in an easy and fun to read book…and should entertain readers looking for something new and different in a sea of Harry Potter-cloned books.”—Sacramento Book Review

“Brilliant, exciting, and highly original, City of Fire is an absolutely magnificent fantasy adventure! Laurence Yep creates a truly believable alternate world that is loaded with great magic—in a book that radiates great magic of its own.”—T. A. Barron, New York Times bestselling author of The Great Tree of Avalon


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Laurence Yep

LAURENCE YEP is the critically-acclaimed author of more than sixty books for children and young adults, including two Newbery Honor Award winners: Dragonwings and Dragon’s Gate. In 2005, he won the Laura Ingalls Wilder award for a substantial and lasting contribution literature for children. Mr. Yep lives with his wife in California.

Laurence Yep

Laurence Yep

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

City of Fire
Laurence Yep

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Tom Doherty Associates
Starscape
September 2009
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429946117
ISBN10: 1429946113
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
Age Range: 8 to 12
Grade Range: 3 to 7
$5.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
Tom Doherty Associates
Starscape
September 2009
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780765319241
ISBN10: 0765319241
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
Age Range: 8 to 12
Grade Range: 3 to 7 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


AR Quiz Number: 135096
AR Book Level: 6.1
AR Points: 12

$15.99

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
Tom Doherty Associates
Starscape
August 2010
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780765358790
ISBN10: 0765358794
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 3/16 x 7 5/8 inches, 320 pages
Age Range: 8 to 12
Grade Range: 3 to 7
$5.99
Back

From The Publisher

Starscape

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back