A Stranger in Mayfair

Charles Lenox Mysteries (Volume 4)

Charles Finch

Minotaur Books

Download Image Charles Finch A Stranger in Mayfair

Available Formats

BookeBook
Returning from a continental honeymoon with his lifelong friend and new wife, Lady Jane Grey, Charles Lenox is asked by a colleague in Parliament to consult in the murder of a footman, bludgeoned to death with a brick. His investigation uncovers both unsettling facts about the family he served and a strange, second identity that the footman himself cultivated.

Going into the boxing clubs and public houses, the Mayfair mansions and servants’ quarter of Victorian London, Lenox gradually realizes that an old friend may be implicated in the footman’s death. Soon a suspect is arrested, but Lenox has his doubts. Desperately trying to balance the opening of Parliament and what he feels sure is a dark secret, he soon discovers that the killer is someone shockingly innocuous—who may be prepared to spill blood again, even a detective’s.

In Detective Lenox, Lady Grey, and their circle of close associates, Charles Finch has created a cast of inviting, flesh-andblood characters. His evolving series, with its keen eye for period detail and razor-sharp plotting, offers readers an unparalleled brand of charm, sophistication, and suspense.

Connect with the Author

Charles Finch

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One

For an Englishman it was a strange time to be in France. During much of the century a strong enmity had existed between the countries’ two governments, first because of Napoleon’s rather uncouth attempt to conquer Europe, then because of the lingering hostility born of that time. Now, though, the emperor’s nephew ruled France and had shown himself more liberal than his uncle—he had freed the press and the government from many of their previous restrictions—and an uneasy peace had sprung up across the Channel.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for A Stranger in Mayfair

“An absolute delight . . . Finch vividly brings 1860s London to life.” —USA Today

“Readers of Anne Perry should be snatching up Finch’s books and clamoring for more.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —The Wichita Eagle

“A beguiling Victorian mystery.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review on The Fleet Street Murders

“The best sort of historical mystery—clever, charming, full of period detail, and a delight to read.” —David Liss, author of The Devil’s Company, on A Beautiful Blue Death


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Charles Finch

Charles Finch is a graduate of Yale and Oxford. He is the author of the Charles Lenox mysteries, including The Fleet Street Murders and The September Society. His first novel, A Beautiful Blue Death, was nominated for an Agatha Award and was named one of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2007, one of only five mystery novels on the list. He lives in Oxford, England.

Charles Finch

Photo: Alix Smith
Charles Finch

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

A Stranger in Mayfair
Charles Finch

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
November 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429949156
ISBN10: 1429949155
320 pages
$9.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
July 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312616953
ISBN10: 0312616953
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 336 pages
$15.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back