Strong Motion

A Novel

Jonathan Franzen

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Download Image Jonathan Franzen Strong Motion

Available Formats

BookeBook
Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes' cause complicate everything.

Connect with the Author

Jonathan Franzen

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

STRONG MOTION 1

Sometimes when people asked Eileen Holland if she had any brothers or sisters, she had to think for a moment.

In grade school she and her friends had played foursquare during recess, and when fights broke out in far corners of the playground, it usually turned out that the person whose face was being smashed into the blacktop was her younger brother, Louis. She and her friends would continue to bounce their ball from square to square. They were skipping rope the day Louis fought a boy on the top tier of the old tetanus-infested jungle gym and damaged a different

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Strong Motion

"Bold, layered . . . Mr. Franzen lavishes vigorous, expansive prose not only on the big moments of sexual and emotional upheaval, but also on various sideshows and subthemes . . . An affirmation of Franzen's fierce imagination and distinctive seriocomic voice . . . his will be a career to watch."—Josh Rubins, The New York Times Book Review

"Ingenious . . . Strong Motion is more than a novel with a compelling plot and a genuine romance (complete with hghly charged love scenes); Franzen also writes a fluid prose that registers the observations of his wickedly sharp eye."—Douglas Seibold, The Chicago Tribune

"Complicated and absorbing with a fair mix of intrigue, social commentary and humor laced with a tinge of malice."—Anne Gowen, The Washington Times

"Strong Motion is a roller coaster thriller . . . Franzen captures with unnerving exactness what it feels like to be young, disaffected and outside mainstream America. There is an uncannily perceptive emotional truth to this book, and it strikes with the flinty anger of an early-sixties protest song."—Will Dana, Mirabella

"Franzen is one of the most extraordinary writers around . . . Strong Motion shows all the brilliance of The Twenty-Seventh City."—Laura Shapiro, Newsweek

"Lyrical, dramatic and, above all, fearless . . . Reading Strong Motion, one is not in the hands of a writer as a fine jeweler or a simple storyteller. Rather, we're in the presence of a great American moralist in the tradition of Dreiser, Twain or Sinclair Lewis."—Ephraim Paul, Philadelphia Inquirer

"With this work, Franzen confidently assumes a position as one of the brightest lights of American letters . . . Part thriller, part comedy of manners, Strong Motion is full of suspense."—Alicia Metcalf Miller, Cleveland Plain Dealer

"Wry, meticulously realistic, and good."—Entertainment Weekly

"Franzen's dark vision of an ailing society has the same power as Don DeLillo's, but less of the numbing pessimism."—Details

"Base and startling as a right to the jaw . . . [Franzen] is a writer of almost frightening talent and promise."—Margaria Fichtner, Miami Herald
Back

About the Author

Jonathan Franzen

Jonathan Franzen is the author of The Corrections, winner of the National Book Award and a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the Pen/Faulkner. He is also the author of the novels  Freedom (selected for Oprah’s Book Club) and The Twenty-Seventh City, and two works of nonfiction, How to Be Alone and The Discomfort Zone, all published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. In 1996, he was named one of Granta’s Best of Young American Novelists. He lives in New York City and Santa Cruz, California.

Jonathan Franzen

Greg Martin
Jonathan Franzen

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Strong Motion
A Novel
Jonathan Franzen

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
August 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429957823
ISBN10: 1429957824
488 pages
$9.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
September 2001
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312420512
ISBN10: 031242051X
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 528 pages
$17.00
Back

From The Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back