Voyeur

Daniel Judson

Minotaur Books

Download Image Daniel Judson Voyeur

Available Formats

BookeBook

Remer was a Manhattan p.i. until one of his targets got the better of him and found a way to force him into retirement.  He's been living an anonymous life since then, for six years, running a liquor store in Southampton, trying to stay in the shadows.  But then a voice from his past needs help, and he agrees to work one last case--a missing person--in order to get away from the threat he's lived under once and for all.  Trouble is, even if he finds Mia Ferrara, even if she's safe, that might not be possible.

Daniel Judson's talent for tormented heros and irresistible noir styling combine in this dark and searing thriller.

Praise for Daniel Judson 

“Shamus-winner Judson once again successfully mines Long Island's south fork for glittering noir nuggets… Readers will want to see more of the flawed but appealing Cal, with his inbred distrust of authority and outsized sense of loyalty.”
--Publishers Weekly on The Violet Hour
“In the cutthroat game of Survivalist Poker, Cal can wheel and deal with the worst of them.”
--Kirkus Reviews on The Violent Hour
“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He's a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people's souls.... Judson's description of Bechet's relationship with his girlfriend perfectly describes not only this atmospheric novel's story line but the author as well: ‘deep, primal, compelling.’”
--Chicago Tribune on The Water's Edge
“[An] intense crime novel . . . Cold, rainy, foggy weather lends atmosphere to a gripping thriller perfect for a stormy night’s entertainment.”
--Publishers Weekly on The Water's Edge
“Action packed. Loss and redemption rule in Shamus Award--winning Daniel Judson's third novel, set in Southampton nights so cold that they could cool off a reader sizzling in this summer's heat. It's noir on ice.”
--USA Today on The Darkest Place

Connect with the Author

Daniel Judson

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Voyeur Chapter 1

He knew the equipment well, all the tools of his trade, and had already laid out the items he would need tonight on the empty seat beside him.

Hidden behind the heavily tinted windows of his panel van, he was free to watch without being seen, a simple necessity that, in theory at least, might someday prove to be nothing less than a matter of life and death.

His life and death.

Of course, Remer didn’t care to dwell on that—or any of the potential dangers that came with observing people at their worst; to do so would be inviting fear in,

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Voyeur

Advance Praise for Voyeur

“Judson hits you with a 25,000-volt stun gun in chapter one and doesn’t let up until the satisfying end.”
---Alafair Burke, author of 212

Praise for The Violet Hour

“Shamus winner Judson once again successfully mines Long Island’s South Fork for glittering noir nuggets.”
---Publishers Weekly

“Set around Halloween, this well-written and compelling noir will appeal to fans of J. A. Jance, Martha Powers, and Peter Abrahams.”
---Library Journal

Praise for The Water’s Edge

“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He’s a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people’s souls.”
---Chicago Tribune

Praise for The Darkest Place
“A searing, brooding look at the bleak side of the Hamptons . . . an intense novel.”
---South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Action packed. Loss and redemption rule in Shamus Award--winning Daniel Judson’s third novel, set in Southampton nights so cold that they could cool off a reader sizzling in this summer’s heat. It’s noir on ice.”
---USA Today


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Daniel Judson

Daniel Judson, a Shamus Award winner and three-time finalist, is the author of five novels. He attended Southampton College and lives in Connecticut.

Daniel Judson

Photo: Christine Alexander
Daniel Judson

Official Sites

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Voyeur
Daniel Judson

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
September 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429961950
ISBN10: 1429961953
272 pages
$7.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
December 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312383596
ISBN10: 0312383592
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 272 pages
$17.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back