Night on Fire

Douglas Corleone

Minotaur Books

Download Image Douglas Corleone Night on Fire

Available Formats

eBook

Kevin Corvelli---a hotshot New York defense attorney who packed up his bags and hung his shingle in Hawaii to dodge the spotlight---is deep in his mai tais at a resort when an argument erupts down at the other end of the bar. It’s a pair of newlyweds, married that very day on the beach. And since Corvelli doesn’t do divorces, he all but dismisses the argument.

That’s at least until the fire breaks out later that night, and he barely escapes his hotel room. Most weren’t so lucky, including the new husband. His wife, Erin, becomes not only the police’s prime suspect for arson and murder but also Corvelli’s newest client, and she has a lot working against her, like motive and opportunity, not to mention a history of starting fires.

The heat gets turned all the way up in Douglas Corleone’s scorching legal thriller Night on Fire, his second following the MB/MWA's First Crime Novel Competition winner, One Man’s Paradise.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER 1
 

I’m about to get laid.
It’s about time, too, because I’ve been chatting up this cougar since happy hour. It’s now a shade past eleven and the dozen or so mai tais I threw back tonight are threatening to render my downstairs tenant utterly useless.
We’re drinking at Kanaloa’s, a small outdoor beach bar and grill at the Kupulupulu Beach Resort in Ko Olina, about a half-hour drive from Honolulu. This is where I live now; not at the hotel per se, but in a villa just a stone’s throw away.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Night on Fire

Praise for One Man’s Paradise

“Fans of John Grisham, Lisa Scottoline, and other legal thriller authors will enjoy this for the sheer pleasure of seeing a master defense attorney at work in the courtroom.”
---Library Journal

“This novel won the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award, and it’s no wonder. Former defense lawyer Corleone has created a crafty and memorable character and placed him in a suspenseful and layered story. . . .  A sequel to this fine debut would seem almost mandatory.”
---Booklist

“A very fine first novel. Corleone has a bright future ahead of him. . . . . A well-written first novel. Paradise really is a winner.”
---ReviewingtheEvidence.com

“This is a strong book, one with the ring of authenticity. Corvelli---and by extension, author Corleone---[is] a quick study.”
---Honolulu Weekly


In the Press

NIGHT ON FIRE by Douglas CorleoneKirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of NIGHT ON FIRE . A Hawaiian honeymoon ends abruptly when the bride's accused of killing the groom on their wedding night.
- Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Douglas Corleone

DOUGLAS CORLEONE is a former New York City defense attorney and winner of the Mystery Writers of America/Minotaur Books First Crime Novel Competition. He now lives in the Hawaiian Islands with his wife and son. This is his second novel.

Douglas Corleone

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Night on Fire
Douglas Corleone

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
April 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429962094
ISBN10: 1429962097
352 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back