The God Effect

Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon

Brian Clegg

St. Martin's Press

Download Image Brian Clegg The God Effect

Available Formats

BookeBook
The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true

What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected---instantly---in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it “spooky” and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the “God Effect,” was one of Einstein’s few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes.
 
What does it mean? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more.

In The God Effect, veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

The God Effect
CHAPTER ONEENTANGLEMENT BEGINSLaws are generally found to be nets of such a texture, as the little creep through, the great break through, and the middle-sized are alone entangled in.--WILLIAM SHENSTONE, Essays on Men, Manners, and Things 
 
 
 
Entanglement. It's a word that is ripe with implications. It brings to mind a kitten tied up in an unraveled ball of wool, or the complex personal relationship between two human beings. In physics, though, it refers to a very specific and strange concept, an idea so bizarre, so fundamental, and so far reaching

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for The God Effect

“A masterful account of the phenomenon Einstein thought so crazy it could not possibly be true. (Only it is!)”
---Dr. Marcus Chown, author of The Universe Next Door

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Brian Clegg

Brian Clegg is the author of A Brief History of Infinity, The First Scientist: A Life of Roger Bacon, and Light Years: The Extraordinary Story of Mankind’s Fascination with Light. He holds a physics degree from Cambridge and has written regular columns, features, and reviews for numerous magazines. His books have been translated into ten languages. He lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and two children.

Brian Clegg

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The God Effect
Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon
Brian Clegg

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
July 2009
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429966016
ISBN10: 1429966017
288 pages, Includes 27 black-and-white illustrations throughout
$9.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
St. Martin's Griffin
July 2009
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312555306
ISBN10: 031255530X
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 288 pages
$16.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back