Trespasser

Mike Bowditch Mysteries (Volume 2)

Paul Doiron

Minotaur Books

Download Image Paul Doiron Trespasser

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook

In Paul Doiron’s riveting follow-up to his Edgar Award–nominated novel, The Poacher's Son, Maine game warden Mike Bowditch’s quest to find a missing woman leads him through a forest of lies in search of a killer who may have gotten away with murder once before.

    While on patrol one foggy March evening, Bowditch receives a call for help. A woman has reportedly struck a deer on a lonely coast road. When the game warden arrives on the scene, he finds blood in the road—but both the driver and the deer have vanished. And the state trooper assigned to the accident appears strangely unconcerned.

    The details of the disappearance seem eerily familiar. Seven years earlier, a jury convicted lobsterman Erland Jefferts of the rape and murder of a wealthy college student and sentenced him to life in prison. For all but his most fanatical defenders, justice was served. But when the missing woman is found brutalized in a manner that suggests Jefferts may have been framed, Bowditch receives an ominous warning from state prosecutors to stop asking questions.

    For Bowditch, whose own life was recently shattered by a horrific act of violence, doing nothing is not an option. His clandestine investigation reopens old wounds between Maine locals and rich summer residents and puts both his own life and that of the woman he loves in jeopardy. As he closes in on his quarry, he suddenly discovers how dangerous his opponents are, and how far they will go to prevent him from bringing a killer to justice.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

TRESPASSER
Paul Doiron

This is a work of fiction. All of the characters, organizations, and events portrayed in this novel are either products of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously.

1

I found the wreck easily enough. It was the only red sedan with a crushed hood on the Parker Point Road. In my headlights, the damage didn't look too extensive. The driver had even managed to steer the car onto the muddy shoulder, where it had become mired to its hubcaps.

I switched on my blue lights and got out of the patrol truck.

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

Trespasser by Paul Doiron--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Paul Doiron's thriller novel Trespasser. In this riveting follow-up to the Edgar Award--nominated novel, The Poacher's Son, Maine game warden Mike Bowditch's quest to find a missing woman leads him through a forest of lies in search of a killer who may have gotten away with murder once before.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for Trespasser

“Doiron’s plot is heart-pounding, filled with startling twists and turns. The main characters, some lovable and others despicable, are all multidimensional. And the stylish prose is pitch-perfect, especially in its evocative descriptions of the beauty, and occasionally the ugliness, of coastal Maine in early spring. The story’s slam-bang ending leaves Mike’s life in tatters, and the reader anxious to know what the author has in store for him next.”—Associated Press

“Doiron delivers another perfectly plotted mystery peopled with multidimensional characters, but, in addition, his writing has matured. His descriptions of Maine’s midcoast are incredibly evocative of the sights, sounds, and smells of early spring, and the heart-pounding account of Mike’s fourwheeling chase through the woods is a masterpiece of high-octane narrative. Suggest this series to fans of C. J. Box and Nevada Barr.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Doiron serves up a tense thriller that stars a memorable main character and brings the rugged Maine landscape vividly to life. Highly recommended for lovers of mysteries, particularly those set outdoors or in New England. Fans of C.J. Box and Castle Freeman will not be disappointed.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“Doiron’s second thriller featuring Mike Bowditch makes effective use of Maine’s ‘mud season,’ that time when the weather is unpredictable and new life struggles to emerge from the snow, as a metaphor for Mike’s internal struggle to put his life back on track. Doiron’s sense of place, and of the people of Maine, adds lush nuance to this suspense-filled read. Well-paced, with an interesting array of elegantly rounded characters, this effort more than lives up to the promise of Doiron’s debut.”—RT Book Review (Top Pick, 4 ½ stars)

“A complex, heartfelt, altogether impressive piece of work.”—Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling."—Publishers Weekly

“Engaging . . . Doiron is clearly a talented storyteller. . . . The book is hard to put down.”—Portland Press Herald

“Doiron is an author to watch!”—Indiebound


In the Press

TRESPASSER by Paul DoironKirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of TRESPASSER . Seven years after a trial sent a police suspect up for murder, a disturbingly similar new killing reopens the case, dragging Maine game warden Mike Bowditch along for one hellacious ride.
- Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Paul Doiron

Bestselling author Paul Doiron is the editor-in-chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English, and he holds an MFA in creative writing from Emerson College.  Paul is a Registered Maine Guide and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

Paul Doiron

Back

Community

Criminalelement.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Trespasser
Paul Doiron

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
June 2011
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429970259
ISBN10: 1429970251
320 pages
$9.99

Unabridged Compact Disc

Unabridged  Compact Disc
Macmillan Audio
June 2011
Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9781427212252
ISBN10: 1427212252
Audio Run Time: 9:30
$39.99

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
June 2011
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427212269
ISBN10: 1427212260
Audio Run Time: 9:30
$19.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
June 2011
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312558475
ISBN10: 0312558473
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$24.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
April 2012
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9781250001597
ISBN10: 1250001595
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 320 pages
$14.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back