Pirates Eat Porridge

by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis

A Neal Porter Book

Download Image by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis Pirates Eat Porridge

Available Formats

BookeBook
HOIST THE SAILS! MAN THE POOP DECK!   A side-splitting tale with ridicuous pictures to tickle the funny bones of kids everywhere.
 
"Who is the captain of this here fish-finger house?"  When a pirate arrives at Billy and Heidi's door, it's the start of a crazy and unpredictable adventure as they sail their "fish-finger" house to Itchy Ear Island, and learn all sorts of quirky facts about pirates, parrots, and cabbages along the way.  Filled with outrageously funny dialogue, this hilarious pirate tale is the perfect yarn for newly independent readers (and scallywags)!

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Pirates Eat Porridge
Billy loved being in his tree house.Up here, he could see the mountains to the east, the sea to the south, the buildings of the city to the west, and all sorts of interesting things in the sky.He liked to lean out of the window and ask himself questions:Do clouds talk to each other?Do flying fish have nests?Who tells the tide to go out?He was just wondering whether jellyfish might taste like jelly when a large sheet of paper blew in through the window and rolled itself up like a scroll at his feet.It had written on it in big, bold letters,Suddenly, Billy's sister, Heidi,

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Pirates Eat Porridge

Kirkus Reviews
 
Billy is the sort of boy who likes to sit in his treehouse and ponder the great questions: “Do clouds talk to each other? Do flying fish have nests? Who tells the tide to go out?” Billy is not the sort of boy who would be surprised to find a floating treasure map or have his sister Heidi announce the arrival of a pirate and a pig at his door. Soft-spoken Billy and no-nonsense Heidi negotiate the arrival of their demanding guest with a combination of cunning, understanding and acceptance. Along the way, they learn a lot about pirates, pirate school, seagulls, cabbage and porridge. New readers will appreciate the detailed and exuberant black-and-white illustrations, especially the exaggerated beard and head of the pirate and his “parrot,” who happens to look a lot like a pig. The silly, convoluted plot might be a bit much for a new reader, but the pictures go far to help comprehension. Fans of Lane Smith and Jon Scieszka will find lots to laugh at here. (Fiction. 8-10)

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis

Christopher Morgan has been a musician, furniture maker, and public servant.  His first novel, The Four Rivers, was published in 2006.   Neil Curtis was the recipient of the Silver Award for illustration by the Australian Writers and Art Directors' Association, and has published a number of award-winning picture books.

Christopher Morgan
Neil Curtis

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Pirates Eat Porridge
by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Roaring Brook Press
A Neal Porter Book
October 2007
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429975230
ISBN10: 1429975237
Middle-Grade Fiction80 pages, Black-and-white line art
Age Range: 7 to 10
Grade Range: 2 to 5
$7.99

Hardcover

Hardcover
Roaring Brook Press
A Neal Porter Book
October 2007
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781596433045
ISBN10: 1596433043
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 7/8 x 7 1/4 inches, 80 pages, b&w line art
Age Range: 7 to 10
Grade Range: 2 to 5 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


F&P Level A-Z: N

$14.95
Back

From The Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back