Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Roaring Brook Press

Download Image Marcus Sedgwick Revolver

Available Formats

BookeBook
A LOADED GUN. STOLEN GOLD. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig’s father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig’s only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin’s storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?
 
Revolver is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

1Wash Day, dusk
Even the dead tell stories.
Sig looked across the cabin to where his father lay, waiting for him to speak, but his father said nothing, because he was dead. Einar Andersson lay on the table, his arms half raised above his head, his legs slightly bent at the knee, frozen in the position in which they’d found him; out on the lake, lying on the ice, with the dogs waiting patiently in harness.
Einar’s skin was gray; patches of frost and ice still clung to his beard and eyebrows despite the warmth of the cabin. It was only a matter of degree.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Revolver

A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.”—The Horn Book, STARRED

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig’s difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, STARRED

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.”Booklist

 


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Marcus Sedgwick

MARCUS SEDGWICK is the author of ten previous novels for young readers and has been short-listed for numerous children’s book awards, including the Carnegie Medal, The Guardian Prize, and the Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Sussex, England.

Marcus Sedgwick

Back

Reading Guide

Other Guides

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Revolver
Marcus Sedgwick

Award

American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults, American Library Association Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adults, Michael L. Printz Award - Honor, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year, CPL: Chicago Public Library Best of the Best, Indiana Read Alouds Too Good to Miss Master List, Texas TAYSHAS High School Reading List

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Roaring Brook Press
April 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429987004
ISBN10: 1429987006
Young Adult Fiction224 pages
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Range: 7 and up
$6.41

Hardcover

Hardcover
Roaring Brook Press
April 2010
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781596435926
ISBN10: 1596435925
Young Adult Fiction
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 224 pages
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Range: 7 and up Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


AR Quiz Number: 136706
AR Book Level: 5.2
AR Points: 5

$16.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Square Fish
September 2011
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312547974
ISBN10: 0312547978
Young Adult Fiction
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 240 pages
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Range: 7 and up
$8.99
Back

From The Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back