The Midnight Charter

The Agora Trilogy (Volume 1 of 3)

David Whitley

Roaring Brook Press

Download Image David Whitley The Midnight Charter

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook
In a society based on trade, where everything can be bought and sold, the future rests on the secrets of a single document-and the lives of two children whose destiny it is to discover its secrets. In this spellbinding novel, newcomer David Whitley has imagined a nation at a crossroads: misshaped by materialism and facing a choice about its future. He has brought to life two children who will test the nation's values-and crafted a spellbinding adventure story that will keep readers turning the pages until the very end.
 
For readers who love Philip Pullman, THE MIDNIGHT CHARTER combines great storytelling with a compelling vision - a many layered adventure with powerful and timely implications.

Connect with the Author

David Whitley

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER ONE

The Staircase

BEING DEAD was colder than Mark had expected. When his mother had told them all tales of the afterlife, she had drawn him close into her woolen skirts and painted a picture of another city, one where it was always summer. A world where the river glowed clean and bright, a land where all debts were forgotten. Mark had trusted every word, until he awoke in a stone cell, shivering and wrapped in a shroud.

His mother had been the first to go. At least she would have found out before him how wrong she had been.

Read the full excerpt


Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Watch and Listen

David Whitley on The Midnight Charter

Author David Whitley speaks about The Midnight Charter

Share This

The Midnight Charter by David Whitley--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from David Whitley's children's fantasy novel The Midnight Charter. In a society based on trade, where everything can be bought and sold, the future rests on the secrets of a single document-and the lives of two children whose destiny it is to discover its secrets. In this spellbinding novel, newcomer David Whitley has imagined a nation at a crossroads: misshaped by materialism and facing a choice about its future.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for The Midnight Charter

Exciting and gripping from the first heart-stopping line, this first book in a trilogy takes readers only part of the way to resolving the predictions of the Midnight Charter and its relationship to Mark and Lily. Readers will anxiously await the next installment as they reach the cliff-hanger ending.” —School Library Journal

“One of the most original and creative books I've read in a long time.” —Wands and Worlds.com

“Charity, greed, freedom, fate and political scheming are all woven through debut author Whitley's richly conceived world. Readers will be buoyed by every small triumph that cannot be recorded in an account book.” —Publishers Weekly

“Whitley threads together a thrilling pageturner with the two young heroes' lives intertwining in surprising and illuminating ways.” —Shelf Awareness

“Deft world-building and crafty plotting combine for a zinger of an ending that will leave readers poised for book two. Surprisingly sophisticated upper-middle-grade fare, with enough meat to satisfy older readers as well.” —Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

David Whitley

David Whitley, a recent graduate of Oxford, wrote his first children's novel at age 17; it was shortlisted for the Kathleen Fidler Award. At 20, he was the youngest person ever to win the Chesire Prize for Literature for a children's short story. He lives in England.

David Whitley

David Whitley

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Midnight Charter
David Whitley

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Roaring Brook Press
September 2009
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429988797
ISBN10: 1429988797
Middle-Grade Fiction336 pages
Age Range: 11 to 14
Grade Range: 6 to 9 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 790L

$5.70

Unabridged Digital Audio

Unabridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
Macmillan Young Listeners
September 2009
Unabridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781427208149
ISBN10: 142720814X
Middle-Grade FictionAudio Run Time: 10:00
Age Range: 11 to 14
Grade Range: 6 to 9
$19.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Square Fish
September 2010
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312629045
ISBN10: 0312629044
Middle-Grade Fiction
5 3/16 x 7 5/8 inches, 352 pages
Age Range: 11 to 14
Grade Range: 6 to 9 Information for Librarians

Information for Librarians


Lexile: 790L

$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back