Because the Rain

A Novel

Daniel Buckman

St. Martin's Press

Download Image Daniel Buckman Because the Rain

Available Formats

BookeBook
"A new Hemingway" (San Francisco Chronicle) weaves together the stories of two men and the Vietnamese call girl who unites them.
 
Set on the rain-slicked streets of Chicago, critically acclaimed author Daniel Buckman explores the unfocused longing and unfulfilled expectations of two men balanced precariously on the edge.
 
Mike Spence is an unsatisfied writer with nothing left to write about. He lives in Chicago with his wife and an enormous burden of unrealized expectations hanging over his head. To escape he concocts elaborate fantasies about travel and career and how his life will be different once he gets this job, takes that vacation, marries a different girl. He ends each evening staring out his darkened window and into the apartment of a beautiful Vietnamese girl who lives in the two-flat across the street.
 
Donald Goetzler is a Vietnam Vet who made it through, spent the last thirty years of his life riding a desk at Weber Industrial Supply, and is now retiring with a bad Mexican buffet and a gold Rolex. He's got nothing to look forward to but his weekly session with the Vietnamese call girl who takes him back through his memories of when he was young and his life was real.
 
As the two men construct their elaborate fantasy worlds around the same woman, these three souls are unaware of the shocking and explosive consequences that the intersection of their lives will bring
 
In a beautifully crafted novel, Daniel Buckman demonstrates the prodigious talent that informs repeated comparisons to Hemingway, Faulkner, Mailer, and O'Brien, and once again tantalizes with the possibility that his name will one day be etched in American literature alongside the masters.
.

Connect with the Author

Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One

The rain streamed off the porch roof and the black sheets dissolved Chicago and they thought themselves behind a waterfall. Mike put his hand on Susan’s cheek, her hair windblown against his knuckles. She held her breath and they bit each other’s lips. After twelve years, it was what they did to make things feel new. But the rain kept coming, beating the leaves from the maples and the elms, turning the gutters into rivulets floating Starbucks pastry bags.

They went upstairs to lie down and the rain fell harder with the late darkness.

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for Because the Rain

Praise for MORNING DARK:
“Overstuffed with detail, but always the right ones: a messy kind of perfect.”—Kirkus Reviews
“Buckman is a master of character development and interpersonal analysis, and his slice-of-life tale of family dysfunction is right on target. Many men will identify with this family as they struggle to save themselves from the war still raging within. Highly recommended.”—Thomas L. Kilpatrick, Library Journal (starred review)
“In the tradition of Tim O’Brien and Larry Brown... [an] intense effort.”—Publishers Weekly
“The terrifying and wonderful achievement of Buckman’s novel is its willingness to dramatize a hard but rarely acknowledged truth…the hysterical fear and hatred of the racial other…is as American as apple pie and the smart bomb.”—Jeffery Renard Allen, Chicago Tribune
“William Faulkner…would have found much to recognize and admire in Daniel Buckman’s MORNING DARK.”—Tom Nolan, San Francisco Chronicle
 
Praise for THE NAMES OF RIVERS
“Let the word go out: There’s a new Hemingway loose in America. THE NAMES OF RIVERS is a stunning look into the dark violence at the root of men’s souls. It will leave you sickened like a gut-punch, but it will also make you want to come back for more.”—San Francisco Chronicle
“Buckman’s intensely written second novel…displays a remarkably exacting touch with his lead characters and supporting cast [and] surefooted storytelling skills." —Publishers Weekly
“Austerely beautiful prose. An elliptical, memorable read.”—Booklist
"Another episode of the literature of Crane and Bierce, Hemingway and Faulkner, Jones and Mailer, Heinemann and O'Brien, a literature that has its own sort of redemptive power that comes from setting down what is never carved in marble or celebrated on national holidays."—Chicago Tribune

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Daniel Buckman

DANIEL BUCKMAN served as a paratrooper with the U.S. Army's 82nd Airborne Division. Because the Rain is his fourth novel.

Daniel Buckman

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Because the Rain
A Novel
Daniel Buckman

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
October 2013
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781466854086
ISBN10: 1466854081
272 pages
$7.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
January 2008
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312427634
ISBN10: 0312427638
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 224 pages
$17.00
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back