Positively Fifth Street

Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker

James McManus; Read by the author

Macmillan Audio

Download Image James McManus; Read by the author Positively Fifth Street

Available Formats

BookAudio BookeBook
Rough sex, black magic, and the science--and eros--of gambling.

Meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas.

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper’s to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23-million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament’s prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harper’s advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself--the players, the hand-to-hand, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America’s card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man’s effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

Connect with the Author

James McManus

Official Sites


Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Listen to an Excerpt from the Audiobook

Loading the player ...
Back

Media

Listen

Positively Fifth Street by James McManus--Audio Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt and hear James McManus read from his book Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker. James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper's to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23-million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it.

Share This
Back

Reviews

Praise for Positively Fifth Street

"James McManus narrates the story of his dream assignment, which must have seemed like a royal flush...the results are highly rewarding, and entertaining, informative and dramatic yearn, full of twists and turns and sweaty palms, read all the more convincingly by an author who's not just acting the part.--The Dallas Morning News

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

James McManus; Read by the author

James McManus is a novelist and poet, most recently winner of the Peter Lisagor Award for sports journalism. He teaches writing and comparative literature at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, including a course on the literature and science of poker.

James McManus

Copyright Aynsley Floyd
James McManus

Official Sites

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

Positively Fifth Street
Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker
James McManus; Read by the author

Award

Society of Midland Authors Book Awards - Winner

Abridged Digital Audio

Abridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
April 2003
Abridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781593971151
ISBN10: 159397115X
Audio Run Time: 3:00
$10.99

Trade Paperback

Trade Paperback
Picador
March 2004
Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780312422523
ISBN10: 0312422520
5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches, 448 pages, Includes 17 halftones
$16.00

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
April 2007
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9780374706203
ISBN10: 0374706204
416 pages, Includes 18 Black-and-White Photographs, a Bibliography, and a Glossary
$9.99
Back

From The Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back