The Brass Wall

The Betrayal of Undercover Detective #4126

David Kocieniewski; Read by Greg Salata

Macmillan Audio

Download Image David Kocieniewski; Read by Greg Salata The Brass Wall

Available Formats

Audio Book
In the tradition of Serpico and Prince of the City, a brilliantly reported true story of power and betrayal in the NYPD set against the worlds of the Mafia and big-city politics

In 1993, Vincent Armanti, Undercover Detective #4126 agreed to infiltrate a branch of the Luchese family responsible for the homicide of a beloved fireman. Already a legend for successfully posing as a hit man and arms smuggler, Armanti transformed himself into Vinnie “Blue Eyes” Penisi—a veteran hood with an icy stare. Yet, once under cover, Armanti found that the wise guys he was chasing had access to classified police information. Stakes accelerated when the informant was revealed to be the son of the commander of NYPD’s Internal Affairs Bureau. Again and again, IAB’s detectives compromised Armanti, to protect the powerful man’s son, but even the Police Commissioner ignored the situation. But, like the fireman who takes an oath to serve, Armanti stayed on the job, even when it was clear his life was endangered.

David Kocieniewski, former New York Times Police Bureau Chief, reveals every moment of Armanti’s effort to break through the wall enforced by the cops’ top brass. Here, with all its compromises, is the city of New York. Here, in all his humanity, is an unforgettable hero, battling for his honor and survival. Here is a remarkable story that ranks with the greatest police classics.

Connect with the Author

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

David Kocieniewski; Read by Greg Salata

David Kocieniewski currently reports for The New York Times, where his stories frequently appear on the front page. He lives in Bucks County, Pennsylvania.

David Kocieniewski
Greg Salata

Back

Community

Criminalelement.com

Latest Blog Posts

More Blog Posts
 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Brass Wall
The Betrayal of Undercover Detective #4126
David Kocieniewski; Read by Greg Salata

Abridged Digital Audio

Abridged  Digital Audio
Macmillan Audio
October 2003
Abridged Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781593973469
ISBN10: 1593973462
Audio Run Time: 6:00
$14.99
Back

From The Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back