Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Revolver

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Square Fish

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

A loaded gun. Stolen Gold. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush. A Printz Honor Book.

A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, starred review

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig's father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig's only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin's storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick was a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year. This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for Revolver

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, starred review

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.” —Booklist

“An elegant, brilliantly executed tale. . . . This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.” —The Times (London)

“A gripping thriller.” —The Guardian

Novels by Marcus Sedgwick:
Saint Death: A propulsive, compelling, and unsparing novel set in the grimly violent world of the human and drug trade on the US-Mexican border.
Blood Red Snow White: A gripping, romantic adventure novel based on the true story of Arthur Ransome's experiences with love and betrayal in war-torn Russia.
The Ghosts of Heaven: A Printz Honor Book! Timeless, beautiful, and haunting, spirals connect four episodes, from prehistory through the far future.
She Is Not Invisible: When her father goes missing, a blind girl talented in identifying patterns and her brother are thrust into a mystery.
Midwinterblood: A Printz Medal Winner! Seven stories of passion and love separated by centuries but mysteriously intertwined.
White Crow: A scary, thought provoking novel about secrets that are better left buried.
Revolver: A Printz Honor Book! A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

Graphic novel by Marcus Sedgwick, art by Thomas Taylor:
Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter: A rip-roaring romp full of hairy horrors, villainous villains, and introducing the world’s toughest monster hunter—Scarlett Hart!

ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adults, Texas TAYSHAS High School Reading List, Michael L. Printz Award - Honor, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year, CPL: Chicago Public Library Best of the Best, American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, YALSA Best Book for Young Adults, Indiana Read Alouds Too Good to Miss Master List, American Library Association Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adults

EXCERPT

Chapter 1
Wash Day, dusk

Even the dead tell stories.
Sig looked across the cabin to where his father lay, waiting for him to speak, but his father said nothing, because he was dead. Einar Andersson lay on the table, his arms half...

Reviews

Praise for Revolver

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, Starred Review

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, Starred Review

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.” —Booklist

“An elegant, brilliantly executed tale. . . . This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.” —The Times (London)

“A gripping thriller.” —The Guardian

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Marcus Sedgwick

MARCUS SEDGWICK is the author of ten previous novels for young readers and has been short-listed for numerous children's book awards, including the Carnegie Medal, The Guardian Prize, and the Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Sussex, England.

Marcus Sedgwick

©Kate Christer

From the Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER