Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry

Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry

Emmy and the Rat (Volume 3)

Lynne Jonell; illustrations by Jonathan Bean

Square Fish

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

Don't miss the stunning conclusion to this magical middle grade series about a girl with special powers.

Emmy was not an ordinary girl. She could talk to rodents. She could shrink to the size of a rodent. And just a few weeks ago, she had even become a rodent to defeat her evil former nanny, Miss Barmy.

Emmy's parents, unaware of their daughter's other life, ship her off to visit two elderly aunts in Schenectady. Emmy figures her life will be ordinary at last, if rather boring. But she didn't count on her friend Ratty, whose search for his long-lost Ratmom brings him more than he bargained for.

Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry is the third book in the acclaimed Emmy series by Lynne Jonell, with art by Jonathan Bean. Look inside for flip book illustrations featuring soaring bats.

Praise for the Emmy series (Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls, and Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry):

"A mystery is cleverly woven into this fun and, at times, hilarious caper, and children are likely to find themselves laughing out loud. . . . a delightful read." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Jonell takes readers on a merry, sometimes scary romp [that] turns smoothly on its fanciful premise and fabulous characters. As in so many stories featuring a rat, the sneaky rodent gets the best lines." —Booklist, starred review

“Quirky, imaginative tale.” —School Library Journal

Reviews

Praise for Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry

“Highly entertaining plot ... Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Quirky, imaginative tale.” —School Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Lynne Jonell; illustrations by Jonathan Bean

Lynne Jonell is the author of the novels The Sign of the Cat, Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls, Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry, and The Secrets of Zoom as well as several critically acclaimed picture books. Her books have been named Junior Library Guild selections and a Smithsonian Notable Book, among numerous other honors.

Jonathan Bean has a master's degree in illustration from the School of Visual Arts in New York. He has illustrated several books for young readers, including Mokie and Bik. He lives in New York City.

Lynne Jonell

Jonathan Bean

Page Break Web-Comic

From the Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER