Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group


The Children of Crow Cove Series (Volume 4)

Bodil Bredsdorff

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)




A little boy called Doup once came to live in Crow Cove, a little community nestled by the sea. Now he's ready to go by his birth name, Alek, and discover his own place in the world. Alek's journey takes him to the fishing village of Last Harbor, where he lives with his bitter older brother, works at an inn—and rescues a beautiful girl from ship wreckers who have killed her family. Murder, romance, and the eternal cycle of life and death all play a role in the exciting conclusion to the acclaimed Children of Crow Cove series.



A mass of driftwood floated down the desolate shore. The waves pushed and shoved the ribs and staves and threw the wood toward land only to pull it out again.
The wood floated by a small cove with a few whitewashed houses and...


Praise for Alek

“...immensely satisfying…” —School Library Journal

“Bredsdorff's imagery is so precise and eloquent that each line of text reads like poetry.” —Horn Book

“Bredsdorff knows how to fulfill the previous novels' promise, turning her wayward individuals into a vigorous, vibrant community. ” —Kirkus

In the Press

Read the Kirkus Review of ALEK . The Children of Crow Cove quartet comes to a natural conclusion in this stately, careful finale. - Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Bodil Bredsdorff

Bodil Bredsdorff is the author of many books for children, including the Children of Crow Cove Series: The Crow-Girl, a Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book, a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, and an ALA Notable; Eidi, a Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book; and Tink. Bodil Bredsdorff lives in Hundested, Denmark.

Bodil Bredsdorff

Bodil Bredsdorff

From the Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook