OVERRIDE

Zanna's Gift

A Life in Christmases

Orson Scott Card

Forge Books

When the Pullman family lost their eldest son to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, it was devastating to all of them, but especially to four-year-old Suzanna.  She shared a special bond with her big brother. A strangely gifted child, Zanna loved to draw, but Ernie was the only one who was able to see the pictures in the curious patterns she made. Sadly, he never saw the Christmas drawing she had made for him that year.

Suzanna grew up to be a famous artist, but to her family, that last painting she made for her big brother was her most important work. 

This is the story of that gift, and how it inspired the Pullman family to keep alive the spirit of  love, imagination, and hope for generations to come.

When the Pullman family lost their eldest son to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, it was devastating to all of them, but especially to four-year-old Suzanna.  She shared a special bond with her big brother. A strangely gifted child, Zanna loved to draw, but Ernie was the only one who was able to see the pictures in the curious patterns she made. Sadly, he never saw the Christmas drawing she had made for him that year.

Suzanna grew up to be a famous artist, but to her family, that last painting she made for her big brother was her most important work. 

This is the story of that gift, and how it inspired the Pullman family to keep alive the spirit of  love, imagination, and hope for generations to come.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

ZANNA (Chapter 1)

There are many ways to lose a child, and none of them is merciful. But like all unbearable things it can be borne, and in the weeks before Christmas 1938, the Pullmans were learning how.

Ernie, their oldest boy, had turned fifteen in August and was in his next to last year of high school. There would be little money to send him to college, but he was smart and studied hard. He hoped for a scholarship.

But he didn't count on it. He didn't count on anything. That was why he also worked at Virgil's Furnace.

Ernie had started with Virg as a boy, looking over the

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Zanna's Gift

“Richards's prose is emotional but never overly sentimental. In the tradition of Richard Paul Evans's The Christmas Box and The Locket, Richards' sure-to-be-classic tale is highly recommended for the Christmas season and all year 'round.” —Library Journal on Zanna's Gift
“Richards's prose is emotional but never overly sentimental. In the tradition of Richard Paul Evans's The Christmas Box and The Locket, Richards' sure-to-be-classic tale is highly recommended for the Christmas season and all year 'round.” —Library Journal on Zanna's Gift

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Orson Scott Card

  • Orson Scott Card is the author of the novels Ender's Game, Ender's Shadow, and Speaker for the Dead. Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead both won Hugo and Nebula Awards, making Card the only author to win these two top prizes in consecutive years. There are seven other novels to date in The Ender Universe series. Card has also written fantasy: The Tales of Alvin Maker is a series of fantasy novels set in frontier America; his most recent novel, The Lost Gate, is a contemporary magical fantasy. Card has written many other stand-alone sf and fantasy novels, as well as movie tie-ins and games, and publishes an internet-based science fiction and fantasy magazine, Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show.  Card was born in Washington and grew up in California, Arizona, and Utah. He served a mission for the LDS Church in Brazil in the early 1970s. Besides his writing, Card directs plays and teaches writing and literature at Southern Virginia University. He lives in Greensboro, North Carolina, with his wife, Kristine Allen Card, and youngest daughter, Zina Margaret.
  • Orson Scott Card Bob Henderson, Henderson Photograpy, Inc.
    Orson Scott Card
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Zanna's Gift

A Life in Christmases

Orson Scott Card

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Forge Books

BACK