OVERRIDE

Death on Telegraph Hill

A Sarah Woolson Mystery

Sarah Woolson Mysteries

Shirley Tallman

Minotaur Books

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…that will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” —Library Journal  

San Francisco, 1882. After enjoying an evening listening to the young Oscar Wilde, crusading young lawyer Sarah Woolson and her brother, Samuel, are making their way home when a gunshot sounds and a bullet pierces the fog, striking Samuel. Who could want to hurt Samuel? Was he even the intended target? Determined to find answers, Sarah discovers more murder and mayhem on Telegraph Hill.

With Death on Telegraph Hill, Shirley Tallman delivers an exciting whodunit with a trailblazing heroine in a time and place when a nice young woman was supposed to be found in the drawing room instead of the courtroom.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER ONE
 
 
A sudden gust of wind hit me full in the face, nearly causing me to lose my footing on the wooden steps leading up the east slope of San Francisco’s Telegraph Hill. Burrowing my head farther inside my hood, I hastened to catch up with my brother Samuel, who was several stairs ahead of me. He was obviously as eager as was I to be done with this precipitous climb.
It was a cold, clear evening late in March 1882. In addition to the gusting wind, the approaching dusk was making our hike up the Filbert Street Steps more arduous than if undertaken during daylight
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Death on Telegraph Hill

"Excellent...Tallman convincingly makes her lead a dogged and fearless sleuth." —Publishers Weekly (starred) on Death on Telegraph Hill
"Excellent...Tallman convincingly makes her lead a dogged and fearless sleuth." —Publishers Weekly (starred) on Death on Telegraph Hill

In the Press

Kirkus | DEATH ON TELEGRAPH HILL by Shirley Tallman
A San Francisco attorney's determination to take on unusual cases is driving her parents crazy.
- Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Shirley Tallman

  • SHIRLEY TALLMAN, the author of four previous Sarah Woolson mysteries, moved to San Francisco at an early age. She and her husband, Bob, live in Eugene, Oregon, where she works as a novelist and screenwriter. Visit her on the Web at ShirleyTallman.com.
  • Shirley Tallman
    Shirley Tallman
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Death on Telegraph Hill

    A Sarah Woolson Mystery

    Sarah Woolson Mysteries

    Shirley Tallman

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK