OVERRIDE

Hell or High Water

A Novel

Nola Céspedes Novels

Joy Castro

Thomas Dunne Books

A psychological thriller in the vein of Kate Atkinson and Tana French that introduces Nola Céspedes, an intense and spellbinding protagonist  Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, catches a break: An assignment to write her first full-length feature. While researching her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in New Orleans. As Nola’s work leads her into darker corners of the city, a singular narrative voice emerges, and an even more compelling question surfaces: Who is Nola Céspedes? Vividly rendered in razor sharp prose, this novel is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle toward recovery.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

 
 
Cecily could find her way to the bathroom perfectly well by herself, thank you very much. She might have been only seven, but she could tie shoes, climb trees like a boy, and ride bikes through the leafy streets of their neighborhood back home in Lawrence. She didn’t need any big sister escorting her to the ladies’ room. She scowled at her father, who relented, shrugging.
“So go, then,” said Sophie, the superfluous big sister, who was eleven.
Quivering with insult, Cecily pushed down from the table and strode off across the restaurant. Sophie watched
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Hell or High Water

In the Press

HELL OR HIGH WATER by Joy Castro | Kirkus Book Reviews
Read the Kirkus Review of HELL OR HIGH WATER . Salvaging lives in post-Katrina New Orleans is no picnic.
- Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Joy Castro

  • Joy Castro teaches literature at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln. Her 2005 memoir, The Truth Book was elected an ABA Book Sense Notable Book.
  • Joy Castro Nicky Martinez
    Joy Castro
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Hell or High Water

    A Novel

    Nola Céspedes Novels

    Joy Castro

    Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year
    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Thomas Dunne Books

    BACK